PDA

View Full Version : Help With JSONP Request and Basics

indieangler
6 Jul 2010, 12:38 PM
Hello. First off, I'm entirely new to Sencha and ExtJS. I've done my fair share of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript coding and I've coded some things in PHP and Perl but I'm no developer by any means. I like to think that I'm not absolutely retarded but I maybe getting closer after messing with Sencha Touch for a few days. Sencha Touch seems really neat and I've been playing with the website, trying to read the API documents, and thumbing through the examples.

I'm trying to make an easy page that displays custom JSON feed data from an external server. I've looked through the examples of JSONP, YQL, and AJAX but I'm still not able to put all of the pieces together as I'm missing some basic knowledge of how it's all structured in general. For my JSON example file, I'll use the following:

"blogs":[{
"title":"Title Data Here",
"post":"Post Data Here",
"date":"Date Value Here",
"link": "URL Value Here"
},{
"title":"Title Data Here",
"post":"Post Data Here",
"date":"Date Value Here",
"link": "URL Value Here"
}
]

I've used this in other places so I'm sure the data is fine and that's not the problem I'm having trouble with, just using Sencha Touch is what's confusing me. Taking code from the samples I've got the following code:

var blogTpl = new Ext.XTemplate([
'<tpl for="item">',
'<h2><a href="{link}" target="_blank">{title}</a><small> on {date}</small></h2>',
'<p>{post}</p>',
'</tpl>'
]);

var makeJSONPRequest = function() {
demos.Data.update('');
Ext.getBody().mask(false, '<div class="demos-loading">Loading&hellip;</div>');
Ext.util.JSONP.request({
url: 'http://www.myurl.com/feed/',
callbackKey: 'callback',
callback: function(result) {
var blogpost = result.data.blogpost;
if (blogpost) {
demos.Data.update(blogTpl.applyTemplate(blogpost));
demos.Data.scroller.scrollTo({x: 0, y: 0});
}
else {
alert('There was an error retrieving the blog post.');
}
Ext.getBody().unmask();
}
});
};