PDA

View Full Version : xmlstore GET requests?

adjohn
13 Jul 2010, 10:25 PM
Hi, I admit I am very new to ExtJS so this may be a newb question:

I created a basic xmlstore in designer to pull data from a REST API we have. In Designer, when I load the data, it works fine and retrieves the results and displays them in a grid. When I export the code, and run it in the browser (Chrome, and Firefox) it does not appear to work. I get a 200 OK from the server, but no xml response.

I checked firebug, and it looks like the problem may be that the request type is OPTIONS instead of a GET. I don't think the API supports OPTIONS. When I enter the same url into the web browser I get a proper xml response.

Is there some way to change the request type to at GET? Or, what would the designer be doing differently?

The store code is as follows:

bucketREST = Ext.extend(Ext.data.XmlStore, {
constructor: function(cfg) {
cfg = cfg || {};
bucketREST.superclass.constructor.call(this, Ext.apply({
storeId: 'bucketREST',
url: 'http://foo.com:9999/fooapi/',
autoLoad: true,
record: 'Bucket',
autoSave: false,
fields: [
{
name: 'Name'
}
]
}, cfg));
}
});
new bucketREST();

jarrednicholls
14 Jul 2010, 6:37 AM
Hi adjohn,

When you see an "OPTIONS" request going out, it means that the browser is checking the server to see if it is allowed to do a cross-domain request. Generally, this is *not* allowed in browsers because it is a security risk. You are loading your project from either a local address or directly from the files, and trying to do an Ajax request to a domain that doesn't match the domain from where you loaded the project. Later browsers like Firefox support the OPTIONS call to do a ping asking "hey, external domain, will you accept this Ajax request from this external domain?" But some browsers simply reject the request.