PDA

View Full Version : BorderLayout with <select>



hernanla
7 Dec 2006, 12:36 PM
hi



sorry bad english

in the nested.html example (layout) I put following tag

http://es.geocities.com/hernanjls/yui-ext/imgen1.JPG



the problem is that the drop-down list appears when being contracted west layout I believe that borderlayout has inconsistent when combina with <select>,


http://es.geocities.com/hernanjls/yui-ext/imgen2.JPG


some form is had to avoid it?

Animal
7 Dec 2006, 10:26 PM
It's an IE6 bug.

Install IE7.

jbowman
8 Dec 2006, 6:20 AM
I don't think IE7 has the market share yet to require people to use it over IE6 ;) I know I basically have been following Yahoo!s grade a browser support list.

If this is an ie6 bug, one suggestion would be to add an event to collapse, that set's display: 'none' on the select element, and then another on the expand event to set it to display: ''

tryanDLS
8 Dec 2006, 7:38 AM
This looks like the IE bleed thru issue with input elements - the reason why the dialog uses a shim to prevent selects underneath from appearing. You could try bumping the z-index of the select higher than that of layout.

There's another post with the same issue related to a select overlaying a grid - I'm still working on building a simple sample to see if z-index change will solve.

Animal
8 Dec 2006, 7:48 AM
z-indexes have no effect on this bug!

With a SELECT on IE6, the only thing to do, is to set it to display:none while you want it to be obscured by another element. Unless you have an iframe under that other element. There's no iframe under sliding regions....

My old Calendar popup used to do a getElementsByTagName("select") in its show() method, loop through them checking whether their YAHOO.util.Region overlapped the Calendar's YAHOO.util.Region, and hide them if they did, only re-showing them on Calendar.hide().