PDA

View Full Version : Seeking guidance with layout & navigation

dvorak
19 Oct 2010, 5:03 AM
Hi!

I'm new to Sencha Touch and I have been spending a few hours playing with the demo applications (the samples as well as the cactus festival app).

The goal would be to write an online game. Sencha touch seems to be a nice plateform that could do the job but I need to get used to the way it works. In my daytime job, I'm more of a server side kind of guy ;)

I'm looking for guidance around the layout and the navigation between the screens. Here is a quick description of what I have in mind:

http://oi55.tinypic.com/1zme4ol.jpg

Note: I used green to show the part that can be scrolled.

So, what about using a TabPanel which will contain panels with card layouts:

01 >> TabPanel

02 >> Toolbar docked top (this could be shared by all screens but each could change the title)
03 >> Button (to navigate back)

04 >> Panel T1 with a card layout
05 >> Component - first card
06 >> Component dock top (T1.Header1)
07 >> ? might use a template to mix HTML and 2 buttons here
08 >> ? might use a list with a template
09 >> Component - second card
10 >> [...]
11 >> Component - third card
12 >> Component dock top (T1.Header2)
13 >> ? some kind of dropdown list
14 >> Button OK

15 >> Panel T2 with a card layout
16 >> Component - first card
17 >> Component dock top (T2.Header1)
18 >> ? might use a list with a template
19 >> Component - second card
20 >> Button action1
21 >> Button action2

1) Is this a good approach? Should I be concerned about the perf of the scrolling of the nested areas?

2) Has someone got any advice or tips on stucturing the navigation code? e.g. I want to avoid passing hard coded index values to setCard if possible.

3) What happens if a card needs to be accessed from two different tabs? (see the "maybe" arrow on the drawing)

Thanks!

gcallaghan
25 Oct 2010, 11:54 AM