PDA

View Full Version : How to display a form that slides up from the bottom?

cymeng
26 Nov 2010, 4:36 PM
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Sencha Touch, so please forgive me if the question is too naive.

What I'm trying to do is pretty similar to what the "Compose new mail" screen in the Mail application on iPhone does --- by clicking a button at the bottom bar (let's say, write new mail), a new screen (that contains all the form elements) slides up from the bottom. The new screen takes the entire screen, with its own toolbar.

So my question is, should I use another panel for that compose screen, or should I create that screen as a card that belongs to the main panel?

I tried to do in the former way, but I don't know how to get the new panel displayed (nothing shows up and no error is reported).
I also tried to do in the latter way, but it seems that the new card is shown without replacing (or covering) the original toolbars that belong to the original panel.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

VinylFox
26 Nov 2010, 5:21 PM
I tend to go with the card layout, but depends on the size of the app.

Post some code and we can make suggestions.

cymeng
26 Nov 2010, 6:53 PM
@Shea,

First off, many thanks for the quick response!

What I'm trying to do is quite complex, but here's the abbreviated code that's related to my question:

myApp = Ext.extend(Ext.Panel, {

initComponent: function() {

this.items = [this.homeView, this.secondView, this.composeNewView];
//my app has multiple views, switched by a group of SegmentedButtons (in a toolbar).
//the last "composeNewView" was the one that should be brought up from the bottom, covering the entire screen

}
onComposeNewTapped: function(button) {
//this event gets triggered when user clicks on the "Compose" button (located in the bottom toolbar)
var parentPanel = button.findParentByType("panel");
parentPanel.setActiveItem(2, {type:'slide', direction:'up'});
}

});