PDA

View Full Version : Using sencha touch with appcelerator?



stevek
30 Jan 2011, 2:56 PM
Hi guys,
Is it possible to use appcelerator with sencha touch?
I ask because it seems that sencha touch is unable to perform certain native tasks, like to programmatically force focus on a textfield without touching it, scanning barcodes to a textfield using a bluetooth handheld scanner, etc...

I have a real need to be able to scan barcodes into a textfield without the need of "touching" it. If sencha touch cannot do this, is it possible for appcelerator to be a wrapper for sencha touch and tap into it's native functions?

Feedback would be appreciated.
Thanks.

steve1964
31 Jan 2011, 12:56 AM
As i know, you cant mix. Appcelerator convert javascript call to native call once compiled, so if you try to compile mixed code Sencha Touch/Titanium this will not work. You can wrap the senca touch webapp in a webui with Titanium (like phonegap does).

R56
29 Jul 2011, 6:18 AM
I wouldn't be so sure about Appcelerator converting js call to native call once compiled and I don't know anything that stops you to mix Titanium and sencha touch.
Do you have any new information about all that?

steve1964
29 Jul 2011, 9:05 AM
Hi, Apps made with appcelerator are native. The javascript call to their framework once compiled are converted to native code by the compiler:
http://www.appcelerator.com/products/titanium-cross-platform-application-development/
So you cant mix sencha touch javascrpt with appcelerator javascript because there is no appcelerator bridge for sencha touch framework. What you can do is to wrap the sencha touch javascript in an appcelerator webui, but why not just use Phonegap?
And for the original question there is a Phonegap Plugin for barcode scanner (android and iOs):
https://github.com/phonegap/phonegap-plugins

R56
29 Jul 2011, 9:49 AM
Jep, that's what I meant.
And you're probably right on the Phonegap part - I'm not really familiar with it.