PDA

View Full Version : forum weirdness: search and big green buttons



jep
20 May 2011, 7:27 AM
Note: This is not a thread about performance issues with the webservers lately. I'm happy to see Sencha is working on that.

What I'm seeing is some weirdness in a couple of areas. The first one might just be a misunderstanding, but I don't think so. When you are on a forum and click the "Search Forum" dropdown, enter a search term and click return (or click the gray Search button), it doesn't seem to limit the search to the forum you are on. I'm pretty sure it used to, and I'm pretty sure this is the standard way for it to work. I'm really getting frustrated with having to go to the advanced search all the time and scrolling down to pick the forum I need. Edit: Fixed.

Related to that, the big green Search button on the advanced forum (getting there by clicking the Advanced Search link described above) is acting weird, too. When I enter some terms and click search, I'm taking to the results. Then if I hit back in my browser, change the terms and try to click Search again, the search button almost never actually works at that point. It takes a full reload of the page (ctrl-shift-R, not just ctrl-R) to make it come back to life again. This seems to affect me in FF 3.6.17 but not in Chrome. Edit: I will also note that it does the depress animation when it's in the bad state of not working. Perhaps this clue will help. Edit: Fixed.

Another FF 3.6.17 only problem is the big green "+ Post New Thread" button on forums. What's weird about it is that the clicks seem to get trapped by the label text. I find that there's a LOT of the button that when clicked on does nothing. My best bet is to find some green area away from the text and click it. Otherwise, I get nothing.

Finally, one suggestion - put a link somewhere on the advanced search page back to the forums. Right now, there's no real way to get there other than using your back button or manually changing the URL. Would just add a little convenience. Edit: Not as much of an issue since the back button works on the search page now.

jep
20 May 2011, 7:28 AM
Huh. Well, add another weirdness. When I just clicked the "Preview Post" button, it posted it rather than previewed it. Again, I'm using FF 3.6.17.

Edit: And just checked it again to make sure I didn't imagine it. Clicking "Preview Post" submitted this post as well. Edit: Fixed.

jep
1 Jun 2011, 9:54 AM
Really no response to this by Sencha after almost two weeks? Not even a "huh, that's weird"?

abe.elias
2 Jun 2011, 12:31 AM
Can you post a screen shot?

cjbottaro
2 Jun 2011, 10:10 AM
Huh. Well, add another weirdness. When I just clicked the "Preview Post" button, it posted it rather than previewed it. Again, I'm using FF 3.6.17.

Confirming. I just double posted in the Sencha Touch Help & Discussion forum because the "Preview Post" button is actually posting instead of previewing. I'm using Chrome 11.0.696.71 on OS X.

On a side note, can someone delete the "Questions from a Rails dev" post (the one who's body says "sorry for the double post")?

jep
2 Jun 2011, 11:13 AM
The Go Advanced button also posts instead of going to the advanced edit screen.

abe.elias - any specific thing you wanted a screenshot of? These are more behaviors, so I'm not sure what a screenshot would do. I'm going to try to get my video capture going so maybe I could post a video which would be more helpful to you.

abe.elias
5 Jun 2011, 11:03 PM
A screencast would be great.

jep
7 Jun 2011, 2:51 PM
Okay, here you go! I finally got my recorder working again. I annotated and put descriptions on most of these. Hope that helped. I uploaded them at 720p so you can change the res if you want to see more detail. Some of these fail in FF 3.6.17 but not in Chrome (should be noted in the description).

--
Clicking Preview Post actually posts instead of previewing (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6UZOPpvipg)
--
Clicking the big green Go Advanced actually posts instead of going to the advanced mode (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbPqJWahD5Q)
--
Clicking the small gray Go Advanced button does nothing (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hgn3bmRK6m0)
--
When you click on the search within a forum, it does not search just that forum. It searches ALL forums (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYvuxWjBua4)

This isn't supposed to be how vBulletin works and I've never ran into a site that worked the way yours does. In fact, I'm almost positive yours didn't used to work this way, either. Here's the bit in the vBulletin manual on how that search forum link is supposed to work:
If you are browsing a forum, you can quickly search for a thread or post within it by clicking on the 'Search this forum' link near the top of the page (it's above the list of threads). You can also search for individual posts within a thread by clicking on the 'Search this Thread' link at the top of any thread view page. (http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/faq.php?faq=vb3_board_usage#faq_vb3_search)

Note that even though it says "Search this forum", the link is actually "Search forum". You can also try it out and see on their own board. (http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forumdisplay.php/47-vBulletin-Pre-sales-Questions)
--
Must click and hold Post New Thread button (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0P8HG96w9U)

This is a subtle one and I don't know how much good the screencast does. All I can say is that in FF, normal mouse clicks don't cut it for several of the big green buttons. You have to click and hold for about a half second and then release. This one also happens on Reply To Thread.

abe.elias
8 Jun 2011, 12:58 AM
I've notified the web team to look into this. Thanks jep for taking the time to do this. Much appreciated!

jep
8 Jun 2011, 6:25 AM
Thanks! Out of curiosity, do you know what browser/device most people at Sencha use on a day-to-day basis? I'm just curious because I wonder how a lot of these (like the Preview Post button actually posting instead of previewing) are never noticed. Surely the Sencha people are on this board all the time, posting. So I figure a lot of this must do with all the board stuff being optimized for a certain browser/device and not being tested on other systems.

jep
8 Jun 2011, 2:01 PM
Yay, they've just fixed the "When you click on the search within a forum, it does not search just that forum. It searches ALL forums" bug. Already making things a lot easier.

abe.elias
9 Jun 2011, 3:54 PM
For the most part we never preview. But I'm told the issue has been isolated and it will be fixed.

davidkaneda
9 Jun 2011, 4:01 PM
Hi Jep, we use a variety of browsers here, but these are global issues you're spotting. We have a potential fix that we're pushing out today. We're a smaller team than one might expect, so I really appreciate the patience as we knock these out — though I agree, this one's lingered too long :)

Best,
Dave

jayrobinson
9 Jun 2011, 4:07 PM
The Preview Post and Go Advanced buttons now work as expected.

jep
9 Jun 2011, 8:24 PM
Thanks for working on this! The Go Advanced button on a quick reply works, but it still does nothing on editing on old post.

JanVenekamp
10 Jun 2011, 2:27 AM
If you want to go advanced on an old post you can do so by temporary disabling javascript! ;)

Grolubao
10 Jun 2011, 6:10 AM
I've been frustrated with this for some months now and I had notified the team before that if you clicked back it would not work now... Hey, at least now it's working.

mschwartz
10 Jun 2011, 6:23 AM
There's no search box on this page. And many others.

mitchellsimoens
10 Jun 2011, 7:51 AM
The Preview Post and Go Advanced buttons now work as expected.

Let's all rejoice now that this is fixed! Little styling but this is AWESOME!!! Great job guys!

jep
10 Jun 2011, 11:49 AM
Definite improvement and I'm looking forward to the rest of the issues being fixed. I think part of the reason it frustrates me even more is that all these things seemed to have broken when a lot of Ext stuff was grafted onto vBulletin. With such a small amount of man hours to spend, it seems like the time would have been much more wisely invested in fixing the plethora of long-standing bugs in Sencha Touch.

So in the best case scenario, all I'm going to get is a forum that works as well as it did months ago.

mschwartz
13 Jun 2011, 5:55 AM
Definite improvement and I'm looking forward to the rest of the issues being fixed. I think part of the reason it frustrates me even more is that all these things seemed to have broken when a lot of Ext stuff was grafted onto vBulletin. With such a small amount of man hours to spend, it seems like the time would have been much more wisely invested in fixing the plethora of long-standing bugs in Sencha Touch.

So in the best case scenario, all I'm going to get is a forum that works as well as it did months ago.

They did a LOT of modifications to the vBulletin skin to make it look like this. Unfortunately, vBulletin has a lot of divs with ids and specific rendering code within its templates that are required for its JavaScripts to work properly. And when you upgrade vBulletin (I note they're running 4.1.1, which is _almost_ the latest version), there's a good chance the upgrade scripts will jack up the custom templates they made.

And the vBulletin templating system is awkward at best, and ridiculously hard to work with since it's done as a bazillion snippets of HTML/Template language stored in the database and accessed from the admincp via textarea widgets. Changing something might look reasonable and harmless, but could affect some pages rendered that you hardly ever visit (like vBulletin Groups).

They've done a remarkably good job of skinning the software, but there are obviously a few bugs they introduced. And you're right, they do have to balance keeping the community happy and posting activity up vs. working on other things.

jep
17 Jun 2011, 7:16 AM
I noticed that Back on the search results works now. Thanks!

I marked my first post to take into account all the fixes. Looks like the main thing left to fix is to make Go Advanced work when editing an existing post.

BTW, another workaround for the Go Advanced but is to middle-click (or however your browser does it) and open the Go Advanced link in a new tab/window. A bit easier than disabling/re-enabling javascript.

jep
17 Jun 2011, 7:21 AM
Oh, yeah, there should still be a link on the "Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms." to get back to your search. I just realized that sometimes when you hit back, you get the prompt to resubmit your POST data. Which I think can sometimes cause another search and wind up giving you the delay message. Just a simple link back to your previous search would be very nice.

jep
17 Jun 2011, 9:32 AM
Ack, I was also wrong about the big green Post New Thread button being fixed. It still takes a decent amount of time holding the mouse down while clicking to make it go.

mitchellsimoens
17 Jun 2011, 9:34 AM
Ack, I was also wrong about the big green Post New Thread button being fixed. It still takes a decent amount of time holding the mouse down while clicking to make it go.

Just a way to confirm you really want to post a new thread :))

jayrobinson
21 Jun 2011, 1:19 PM
Jep, I cannot replicate this bug at all, in any browser.

jep
21 Jun 2011, 1:52 PM
jayrobinson - which one? I posted about a few.

jayrobinson
23 Jun 2011, 12:13 PM
Jep, I am unable to reproduce the problem of having to double-tap "Post New Thread" button before it worked.

jep
23 Jun 2011, 12:16 PM
As discussed above (post #8 (http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthread.php?134210-forum-weirdness-search-and-big-green-buttons&p=611203&viewfull=1#post611203)), the problem isn't double tap, it's quickness of the tap. Reposting:

Must click and hold Post New Thread button (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0P8HG96w9U)

This is a subtle one and I don't know how much good the screencast does. All I can say is that in FF, normal mouse clicks don't cut it for several of the big green buttons. You have to click and hold for about a half second and then release. This one also happens on Reply To Thread.

jep
23 Jun 2011, 2:10 PM
As a developer, I can understand how this would be hard for you to track down. So I spent some more time on it and I can tell you one thing for sure now. On the pages with "Post New Thread" buttons, this CSS override "fixes" that button:



.button-link:active,
.textcontrols a:active,
a.textcontrol:active,
.navlinks a[href^="forumdisplay.php?do=markread"]:active,
a.button-link:active,
.textcontrols a:active,
a.textcontrol:active,
.navlinks a[href^="forumdisplay.php?do=markread"]:active
{
position:static !important;
}


I put in the override using the Stylish addon. I still can't tell you exactly WHY this causes it to malfunction on FF 3.6.18, and I find that this same fix doesn't fix the other big buttons like "Reply to Thread", "Previous Thread", "Next Thread", etc. But maybe this will help you get started.