PDA

View Full Version : grid + destroy



Choleriker
27 Dec 2006, 5:25 PM
Hello,

iam using nested grids that are created on the fly. Why doesnt the grid.destroy method cleans up the datamodel? Is there any reason for not doing that?

tryanDLS
27 Dec 2006, 6:17 PM
One reason is that you can reuse the datamodel with a different presentation. Destroying the dm when the grid is destroyed would require you to go thru the dm.load process again, which is likely the most resource/time intensive task.

jack.slocum
28 Dec 2006, 3:13 AM
Also, there is no clean up required for a DM. Once there are no references to it it will get garbage collected.