PDA

View Full Version : Enable/Disable buttons based on value change in other components

sshankaran
7 Sep 2011, 5:57 AM
Hi,

I am new to ExtJs.
I have in a cshtml file a grid panel/form panel. It has many components like text field.combo, etc..
At the bottom of it I have buttons like Save,Cancel etc.

When the form loads I want to disable these buttons and when there is any change in the components, I want to enable the buttons.
Can someone please tell me a better way to do that. I have looked at the 'Action' but doesn't look like that will solve my issue.

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks
ssp

ValterBorges
7 Sep 2011, 6:03 AM
You'll want to add listeners to the components events that your interested in.
Look at the doc each component has many events.

sshankaran
7 Sep 2011, 9:36 AM
Thanks for your reply.
I am trying to avoid adding listeners to every object. If there is way to set a property or set a default event for the panel, so that every component can subscribe to it?, you know, something on that line.

Thanks
ssp

jay@moduscreate.com
7 Sep 2011, 10:07 AM
You can bubble events and listen to them in the parent. to be honest, I think the cleaner way is to configure listeners on the components themselves, that way you know what's being registered where and what's firing the event!

skirtle
8 Sep 2011, 3:04 AM
To add to what the others have said, adding individual listeners isn't as painful as it sounds. There are several ways to add them en masse:

The defaults config option might work if all the fields are immediate children of the same parent (unlikely).
In the MVC it just needs a correctly written selector. A similar approach using component queries would work even without the MVC.
Forms have a getFields() method you could use to grab all the fields.

sshankaran
12 Sep 2011, 11:31 AM
Hi Skirtle,

Sounds like your method might be useful for me.