PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic populating of combo box

sravaniv
16 Jan 2012, 9:58 PM
urgent help needed!!

Hi all,
I'm very new to Ext JS .I hope you help me out.

I have to populate the combobox with names of previous months in an order.Like suppose if I access a page in January ,the items in the combo box should be starting frm December,November,October and so on. till July in the same order.Accessing the page in feb should give me items in combo box starting from Jan,Dec so on till August.I have no idea how to do it .

I'm using MVC architecture.But there is no constraint .I think i can initialize the combox where we declare /add it.I'm using Json.

Please help me :(

kskrumpet
16 Jan 2012, 11:49 PM
You could do this server side (by using a proxy in the store attached to the combo, using the programming language of your choice to return the json) or you could build an array of months in javascript when the page is loaded and then simply pass this array to the stores "data" initialization variable. But I'm not going to write it for you ;)

sravaniv
17 Jan 2012, 1:27 AM
Thanks for taking time to reply.
But can you please explain in detail how to handle it server side, using json?
Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee?
:s

kskrumpet
17 Jan 2012, 1:52 AM
Ok, I'll help you out, but please remember that the best way to learn is to try to code things yourself. I'll give you an example server side piece of code in the hope that you'll be able to write the ExtJS yourself.

1. Create a combo box with a store that uses the proxy config to point to where on the server you want the combo box to take its values from. You should be able to use the API documentation to figure this bit out (look at Ext.data.Store and Ext.form.field.ComboBox) - note you don't need a model for this to work.

2. You should have a script (php, perl, whatever) at the location you specified in the store's proxy. Exactly what that would look like depends on your programming language. For example, in perl: