PDA

View Full Version : Client-side table/store JOIN

uncoloured
19 Jan 2012, 8:07 AM
Hey guys,

I've run in to a problem that I simply can't find any good solution for, then again I'm rather new with ExtJS.

Here's the scenario: I have a GridView that displays purchase orders. The backend database consists of course of several tables, such as orders, customers and salesperson.

Now - if I have all these tables (orders, customers, salespersons) loaded into separate stores, how do I "join" them in the GridView? I'd rather just have the id's loaded in the order-model, and somehow combine it with data from other stores when rendering the grid.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated!

tvanzoelen
19 Jan 2012, 8:21 AM
You could look into this http://docs.sencha.com/ext-js/4-0/#!/guide/data
and http://docs.sencha.com/ext-js/4-0/#!/api/Ext.data.Model

The associations part

uncoloured
19 Jan 2012, 8:29 AM
Thanks, I've looked through the docs for days without figuring it out. I've tried to figure it out using associations but without any luck. The problem (for me) is that the "main row" (order) can have many users, and a user can have many orders... there's just an association everywhere. And all of this needs to be editable through a form.

The form part was initially pretty straight-forward. Using a combobox with it's own store-property, display- and valueFields did the trick. But in another scenario (another user logged in to the app), I don't want that combobox to be editable or visually similar to a textbox -just displayed as a simple textstring. So, I turned to displayfield, which in turn doesn't support these properties...

uncoloured
20 Jan 2012, 6:34 PM
Hi again,

Perhaps I was a bit unclear, or more likely I'm not yet able to build a complete ExtJS application "the right way"... To try and make this a bit simpler, let's change the question.

I have a GridView where all the rows and columns are loaded from one table into one single store.