PDA

View Full Version : MVC code structuring and best practice..HELP PLZZ

punith.mailme
11 Feb 2012, 11:55 AM
Hi guys,
I am very new to EXTjs, we have tought to develop a web application in extjs. i have 9 navigational flows(nothing like a border layout). its all page navigation.
As i went through the MVC pattern and i have designed to create a 1app, 1controller and 9views. and this app will go under only one Html/Jsp file.

Question 1: is this the right approach??? ( if i wil have a multiple apps i may not be able to interlink all the view together Ex: i need to pass the form values of view 1 in view 2.)
Question 2: is there any approach if i can create a single app, multiple views in 9 different HTML files and handle all the data between the controller
Question3 : currently as planned i have thought of using 1app, 1controller and 9views. and this app will go under only one Html/Jsp file and use Ext.insert(index,view) to bring the required view to front. (any disadvantage of this).

Kindly help. we are already late to start development.

Thanks
Punith

mitchellsimoens
12 Feb 2012, 7:58 AM
The application architecture is up to you. I recommend looking at the application's features and create a controller for each feature. I try to keep a single class pretty small, I don't want a class to get to 500 lines of code... like mine to be less than 200 if possible.

If you create a multi page (multi HTML page) application then those apps should be thought of as separate apps. Remember, each page will have to download the framework and that is expensive. If you can do a single page app I would recommend it very much.

I use add/insert/remove on containers to add child items and then use things like setActiveItem if it's in a card layout. To navigate to a view, it depends on your app and layout.

dedoz
12 Feb 2012, 7:58 PM
Remember, each page will have to download the framework and that is expensive.