PDA

View Full Version : Panel Methods: setVisible(...) & setTitle(...)

Steve_Terry
20 Feb 2012, 4:21 PM
Hi there, I'm new to Ext JS so try to be nice! :)

Currently, I have 2 panels which were created in the designer (so there is a ui file and implementation file for each panel).

What I'm trying to do is set the 2nd Panel's title and visibility from the 1st Panel's implementation file and I currently cannot seem to get that working properly.

From the research I have done and from looking at examples and the API I was able to attempt the following below...

1st Panel's Code

var newTest = Ext.getCmp(‘TestPanel’);

//Test 1 - Use setVisible instead
//newTest.show();

//Test 2 - Set the Panel to be visible since it was originally set to "hidden: true"
newTest.setVisible(true);

//New Title - Set new title for the 2nd Panel
newTest.setTitle(‘New Title’);

2nd Panel's Code

id: 'TestPanel',
title: 'Previous Title',
hidden: true

Although the problem is that when the following line of code is executed "var newTest = Ext.getCmp(‘TestPanel’)", firebug presents me with the following error message...

newTest is undefined

Which seems to signal to me that I am somehow incorrectly attempting to access the other component aka Panel since it doesn't seem to be recognized from the 1st Panel.

Although all examples I have seen point to using "Ext.getCmp" for when you need to access other components not in your main panel for instance.

Also to note, this may be part of the issue, but when it runs with the 2nd Panel being hidden by default, I am expecting that there should be a blank area in the window where the 2nd Panel should be, but what I am getting is the 1st Panel actually stretching to fit the entire screen. :(

I was hoping for the 1st Panel to stay in the same location (without setting fixed sizes since I cannot) and then when the following code "newTest.setVisible(true)" is executed in the 1st Panel, the 2nd Panel will be visible.