PDA

View Full Version : Can I use only charts of ExtJS 4.0 without migrating to ExtJS 4.0?



livinglegends
10 Apr 2012, 9:37 PM
Hi,

My application has been developed using ExtJS 3.0. In application, I want to use charts of ExtJS 4.0 but don't want to fully migrate to ExtJS 4.0.

Is it possible to use chart of ExtJS 4.0 in ExtJS 3.0? If possible, how can I achieve this?

Thanks
Livinglegends

fschaeffer
10 Apr 2012, 9:45 PM
Yes it is possible. You can use a "sandboxed" version of Charts. There is even a demo on the official Sencha Examples Page:

http://dev.sencha.com/deploy/ext-4.0.7-gpl/examples/sandbox/sandbox.html

livinglegends
10 Apr 2012, 9:48 PM
Thanks a ton for such a quick response.
I visited the demo site you mentioned but didnt found any code.
Can you guide me for sample code?

Thanks
Livinglegends

livinglegends
11 Apr 2012, 2:57 AM
I am using sandbox to use ExtJS 4 and ExtJS 3 in one application.

Can I render ExtJS 4.0 charts into the ExtJS 3.0 window or panel? or I have to use ExtJS 4's window or panel for it.

fschaeffer
12 Apr 2012, 11:58 PM
I haven't tested it, but as a ExtJS4 chart always needs a surrounding panel with layout: fit or any other layout assigned which determines the size of the chart, I would say it should work in an ExtJS 3 window with layout:'fit' and given width/height and then chart added as items: [{YourExtJS4ChartObject}]

HTH
Florian

livinglegends
13 Apr 2012, 12:34 AM
I am fancing an issue. I have rendered ExtJS 4.0 charts in ExtJS 3 application using sandbox. But I am not getting chart displayed in IE. It works fine in FF and Chrome.

I have put tooltip on column chart. So, when I move cursor to area where actually chart should be displayed (As I told you chart is not getting displayed in IE), it show me tooltip but chart is not visible. It means it actually renders chart but cannot view it.

Any solution of it?

Thanks
LivingLegends