PDA

View Full Version : Inserting automation Ids to the extjs application

mikieh
16 Jul 2012, 3:20 AM
Hi,

Our development team is going to use Ext JS as the infrastructure for our new product's version.
As an automation developer I'm trying to find ways to ease the process of developing automation tests to this new version.
I've read that the developer shouldn't set the components ids by himself because this is the role of the extjs component manager, and the component manager generates auto-ids that the automation can't rely on for mapping the GUI.
Can the develpoer insert other kind of automation ids that the automation framework can hookup to for controling the components?
For example if the developer could have inserted an attribute called "automationId" to the combobox component of the employees and call it "cmbEmployees" that would make my life much easier. :)

Thanks,
Miki

mitchellsimoens
16 Jul 2012, 5:16 AM
ComponentQuery was designed for lookups without using the id. Your app has a structure based meaning containers have child items and all components have xtypes. ComponentQuery can go up and down this hierarchy to match components and return them based on a selector.

sdt6585
16 Jul 2012, 5:40 AM
You might also have a look at the Siesta (http://www.bryntum.com/products/siesta/latest/examples/browse-all-desktop.html)unit testing library. It's made for unit testing, but that's pretty much the same thing as automation just with a different goal. The source of the ExtJS unit tests show a good way to structure your automation functions.

mikieh
16 Jul 2012, 7:20 AM
Thanks guys for the quick responses.
We're currently using the WatiN framework for testing our product and that's why I'm looking for some kind of automation id that the developer will add to the Ext JS application.
I'm standing here in a situation that the developers are willing to write the application so it will be automatable.