PDA

View Full Version : Using belongsTo / hasMany with a nesting-enabled restful store.

hickscorp
1 Aug 2012, 7:18 PM
Hello,

i'm fairly new to Ext 4.1 framework. My question might have an answer already, but i've been unable to find anything specifically related to it, so here i am.

Basically, i'm making a small application for which the backend is rails 3.2.6 based. Right now, i'm trying to add an Ext-based client to the application, and i'm proceeding with only two simple server-backed models:
- Person that belongsTo Company,
- Company that hasMany People (Plural Person).
Those two models are accessible via restfull URLs (/companies and /users). When outputing json from the server, i am not nesting any resource within the output (Eg. /companies json will not contain users, and /users will not list nested companies).

Also, those two models have their client-side counterparts defined with Ext,
The basic functionality of those models are done in Ext, and it's working pretty much as i like (i'm able to Person.load(...), Company.load(...), etc). Also, i'm able to do person.getCompany().
However, i'm unable to go with company.people, the server request being sent with a "filter" array parameter. Instead, i would like to have an nested-resource based URL to be built like /companies/1/users.

As far as i can understand, i would have to subclass Ext's Rest proxy (So i would for instance create a proxy named RailsRest) that would dynamically build URLs based on the hasMany association description (Eg. /companies/1/people instead of people?filter=[company_id=1]....).

My problem is that i really have no idea where to start... Nor if my idea would be the right approach.

Is there anyone here who knows a bit about this matter please?

Thank you very much for your help!
Pierre.

Below is what i'm doing right now. This is coffee-script, but i'm pretty sure you guys will easily deduce the javascript equivalent of this code :)

Ext.define(
'Person',
extend: 'Ext.data.Model'