PDA

View Full Version : Model And Store

rupanpaul
21 Sep 2012, 7:42 AM
Hi,

I am new to ExtJs.

I want to know why do we use models and store? or rather when to use which one?
Basic difference between the two?

Tim Toady
21 Sep 2012, 8:03 AM
A model defines what your data looks like. For instance if you wanted to represent an employee, you would have fields defined for it such as name, salary, birthdate, address, etc. A store handles a collection of models. So perhaps you have a grid that lists all the employees in a company. That grid would have a store that contains all the employee model instances. The store lets you search through them, filter them, and many other things.

iplanit
21 Sep 2012, 9:33 AM
A model defines your data, and your objects (a class defines the semantics of a hierarchy of objects that shares the same behavior and properties).

A store defines how do you store and manage the data, and in the case of ExtJS4 it's a layer between your backend where your real data is and the frontend.

Example (using code made by the user scottmartin):

Ext.create('Ext.data.Store', {
storeId : 'simpsonsStore',
fields : ['name', 'email', 'change', 'type'],
data : {'items' : [
{ 'name' : 'Lisa', 'email' : 'lisa@simpsons.com', 'change' : 100, 'type' : 'child' },
{ 'name' : 'Bart', 'email' : 'bart@simpsons.com', 'change' : -20, 'type' : 'child' },
{ 'name' : 'Homer', 'email' : 'home@simpsons.com', 'change' : 23 , 'type' : 'parent' },
{ 'name' : 'Marge', 'email' : 'marge@simpsons.com', 'change' : -11, 'type' : 'parent' }
]},
groupField: 'type',
proxy : {
type : 'memory',
reader : {
type : 'json',
root : 'items'
}
}
});

With the store we can map it against your model (or you can map the model to a store):

Ext.define('MyApp.model.ModelTheSimpsons', {
extend: 'Ext.data.Model',

fields: [
{
name: 'name'
},
{
name: 'email'
},
{
name: 'change'
},
{
name: 'type'
}
]
});