PDA

View Full Version : [FIXED] Custom css file cleared on app conversion to b633



berntkau
24 Sep 2012, 9:02 PM
Architect Build tested:

Build: 633
Project Type:

ExtJs 4.1
Description:

I open old project and let SA do conversion to newer version
Steps to reproduce the problem:

Open old project which has custom css in resources folder
Follow instructions and convert project to newer version
The result that was expected:

Project opens normally
The result that occurs instead:

Everything looks normal except code is cleared from my css file claiming its a new file
SA says I have unsaved changes. As long as the project isn't saved the css styles are used, but on saving the styles are lost. Despite you save or not you can't see the css contents in the editor still claiming its a new file!
Operating System:

Win Vista business x64

joostvanhassel
25 Sep 2012, 2:39 AM
I had the same problem, but I noticed this didn't happen until the first 'save' using the new build.

BTW a temporary solution to get your CSS back is:

copy the backup file created during the update
change the extention to *.zip
unzip
copy the css file(s) to your updated project

This is a way to get your css back, it doesn't solve the fact css will be cleared again!

zwilson
25 Sep 2012, 8:28 AM
I just upgraded to build 633. Adding or editing a resource results in an empty file.

By adding prefix of "/" somewhat resolves the issue.

Do all resource urls need to be prefixed with a "/" ?

Example of original resource url values
app.css
utils.js

Example of new resource url values
/app.css
/utils.js

Architect Build tested:

Build: 633
Project Type:

Touch 2.1
Description:

Click to edit existing resource opens empty file (It should not be empty!).
Steps to reproduce the problem:

Open old project which has custom css in resources folder
Follow instructions and convert project to newer version
Click on existing resource
The result that was expected:

Content of existing resource load into editor
The result that occurs instead:

Existing resource is void of all content (empty file)
SA says I have unsaved changes. As long as the project isn't saved the css styles are used, but on saving the styles are lost. Despite you save or not you can't see the css contents in the editor still claiming its a new file!
Operating System:

Win 7 Pro x64

zwilson
25 Sep 2012, 8:55 AM
I wanted to share the instructions that helped me roll back the update and keep working until this bug is fixed:

http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthread.php?237230-Updated-to-Architect-2.1-now-project-preview-is-blank&p=871683&viewfull=1#post871683

Once the software is rolled back you also need to undo the changes made by the upgrade. If you checked into source control before and after the update you can just back out that change. Otherwise you can use the archive that the update creates before it makes changes to your project.

Maybe this will save somebody a few minutes.

maikhorma
25 Sep 2012, 9:21 AM
Same problem here: Win 7 64 bit, extjs 4.1 project on SA 633 release today. Happens to both css and js files. It appears that if i never open the css/js file in architect, it leaves them alone through save and deploy actions. Once i try and open it, it shows up as new, and a save/deploy will erase all the content.

If it makes a difference my paths are:
resources/css/myapp.css
app/ux/ajax.js
app/ux/TreeFilter.js
....
Doesn't really seem to matter, all behave the same.

For now I'm back working as long as I don't click on any of my resources. Any edits are made with an outside editor and will be included in the next deploy (xcopy picks up the change).

Hopefully this gets fixed quickly.

aconran
25 Sep 2012, 9:24 AM
Hey Guys -

Thanks for quickly reporting this bug and helping us get it addressed.

We have been testing a fix this morning and will be pushing it out shortly.

Thanks,

aconran
25 Sep 2012, 9:47 AM
We've pushed out #636 which should resolve this issue. Changelog will be coming soon, the ONLY change was to fix this bug.

zwilson
25 Sep 2012, 10:03 AM
I just upgraded to build 636 and I still have the same problem with the same symptoms.

joostvanhassel
25 Sep 2012, 10:11 AM
Thanks for fixing this as quickly as you did. I removed the resources from my project earlier today (but kept them on disk for testing purposes). After re-adding them I no longer have problems with my CSS files being wiped.

zwilson
25 Sep 2012, 10:31 AM
I did upgrade to 636 (re-verified by checking build #). I restarted 3x :D ... and still same bug.

I will give an uninstall and fresh install a try then report back.

@joostvanhassel did you test b636 and verify the fix?

maikhorma
25 Sep 2012, 10:41 AM
Same as zwilson; updated, says 636, same problem. I think there is a minor difference, but not 100%. I also tried:
Delete existing resource.
Save & close architect.
Open architect.
Create js resource from scratch.
Paste original content in.
Save <- Here is the difference.
Close & reopen architect.
Open js resource, comes up as new resource. Of course a save will save nothing back over top.
The difference:

Before: After save, file size is 0 kb (nothing saved)
After 636: After save, file size is 6 kb (content saved to disk)
As I said, I'm not 100% on the change in bold, but I think so.

zwilson
25 Sep 2012, 10:45 AM
I did an uninstall, download and install from: http://www.sencha.com/products/architect/download/sencha-architect-2-1/windows

And the result is the same.

Architect Build tested:

Version 2.1.0
Build: 636
Release Channel: 2.1-stable
Project Type:

Touch 2.1
Description:

Click to edit existing resource opens empty file (It should not be empty!).
Steps to reproduce the problem:

Open old project which has custom css in resources folder
Follow instructions and convert project to newer version
Click on existing resource
The result that was expected:

Content of existing resource load into editor
The result that occurs instead:

Existing resource is void of all content (empty file)
Saving changes results in overwriting file content with empty file.
Operating System:

Win 7 Pro x64

aconran
25 Sep 2012, 1:20 PM
Please update to 637. 636 fixed linux and mac but did not fix windows. 637 includes fixes for all operating systems.

maikhorma
25 Sep 2012, 1:30 PM
Looks good at first glance. Thanks.

berntkau
25 Sep 2012, 9:36 PM
Seems to work just fine!

Thanks for the rapid fix!