PDA

View Full Version : Multiselect component in Architect

geopalam
27 Sep 2012, 6:34 AM
Hi,

how to add a multiselect component(xtype='multiselect') to the panel in Architect? I don't see it in the Tools box. Though I also can't set it manually in the View because SA will overwrite it whenever I click 'Save' project..

Is there is any reason why 'multiselect' is not supported by SA?

scottmartin
27 Sep 2012, 7:26 AM
If you want to use a UX in SA, you will need to create an override. At this time, UX are not included in the list of default items.

Scott.

Peter Tierney
2 Oct 2012, 6:25 AM
I've been a Flex dev for many years now and am wanting to use ExtJS and Sencha Architect(SA) as they give the closet set of complet tools in the JS world with some semblance of real patterns. With that said, there are some pretty big issues with learning ExtJS and one of those is the SA tool which apparently is not a complete tool yet

This multiselect business is a perfect example since the examples show it possible but using SA, not so much.

Also the answer give from scottmartin seems woefully incomplete, at least from a helpful point of view. UX usually means User Experience but I'm assuming that is not what UX means here.

Create an override in SA or where and if in SA how?

The examples are fine except when the don't work in SA and there isn't a good way to see how SA might want to do it.

So far this has been a very frustrating experience just to get simple things like date fields to be limited especially since the examples for date range validation don't work in SA.

Any suggestions?

geopalam
2 Oct 2012, 6:38 AM
schmaltzyman,
UX stands for User eXtensions for ExtJS(think of them as libraries). To use 'ux' you need to download the corresponding components that you intent to inherit from, like "Ext.ux.form.multiselect" That saying it is still much pain. I ended up using a fieldset with autoscroll and a collection of checkboxes. Works just perfect.