PDA

View Full Version : Possible BorderLayout problem?

salix
22 Mar 2007, 12:21 AM
Hi!

I am new to this and wanted to do some use case development on my own by modifying existing examples you giys have.
I started with layout which is base of all other to follow.
I took Simple layout example.
I added DOCTYPE in front of it and changed that layout do not render in document.body, but in 'container'. Result was a complete layout disappearance in FF 2.x.3 and IE6.
Maybe I am missing something, but I couldn't figure that out.

And - if you remove DOCTYPE - code seems to work...

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>Simple Layout</title>
<script type="text/javascript">
Example = function(){
return {
init : function(){
var layout = new Ext.BorderLayout('container', { // <----- Changed HERE
north: {

JeffHowden
22 Mar 2007, 10:34 AM
Do you have an HTML element with an id of "container" somewhere in your document?

salix
22 Mar 2007, 11:31 AM
Do you have an HTML element with an id of "container" somewhere in your document?

Hmm... as I said this is no my document, this is example named "Simple Layout" in yui-ext documentation.
And - Yes - it has 'container':

<body>
<div id ="container">
<div id="header" cla ...

JeffHowden
22 Mar 2007, 11:53 AM
Ok, so I've confirmed what you're saying about the inclusion of a doctype. Oddly, the more complex layouts seem to be fine with a doctype (at least a transitional one, anyway) as I have numerous ones in production currently.

For the record, HTML4.01 is, what, a 4 or 5 year old standard? I'd recommend developing using XHTML as your doctype. Save your sanity and use transitional though. Strict is a pipedream that isn't possible in the real world.

salix
23 Mar 2007, 12:15 AM
Thanks for response!
Ok, I tried:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">