PDA

View Full Version : [CLOSED] beta5 - app totally broken



walkerr
13 Jun 2008, 3:46 AM
Just tried beta5 ... first thing it broke was my table's RowSelectionModel, which wasn't totally happy with.

Refactored to use new TableListener .. but ...

App completely fails to start up now. Just get blank opening page in IE7 and FF3. No clues or info what's happening - beta5 just totally breaks our app.

gslender
13 Jun 2008, 4:03 AM
Do you get any error msgs in the hosted mode log window?

walkerr
13 Jun 2008, 4:08 AM
No - it's very weird.

Trying to trace it in Firebug at present - the only clue so far is that there might be a 404 on finding the nocache.js. Can't tell yet if that's a red herring or not though.

Only thing we've changed is updated gxt.jar to beta5, plus mod'd 5 classes - 1 class to use TableListener rather than a RowSelectionModel, and the other classes to comment out the now protected setMonitorResize() - which we maybe didn't need anyhow.

Just reverting back quickly to see if something in the URL resource path has changed and is throwing our web server off ...

Stranger and stranger ...

Under 1.5 with beta4 ... our startup trace on the http server looks like this:



08-06-13 14:08:49 INFO - VersaTest WebUI service started.
08-06-13 14:08:49 INFO - @@PRODUCT-NAME@@ @@VERSION-NO@@ (c) @@VENDOR@@, @@COPY
RIGHT-RANGE@@
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /
>>Oscar HTTP: serving up:/
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js
>>Oscar HTTP: serving up:/com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/ED9BE171C0D0004F667ACCDF337A0186.cache.html
)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /ED9BE171C0D0004F667ACCDF337A0186.cache.html
>>Oscar HTTP: serving up:/ED9BE171C0D0004F667ACCDF337A0186.cache.html


With beta5 - it seems to get stuck resolving the resource:



08-06-13 13:59:09 INFO - VersaTest WebUI service started.
08-06-13 13:59:09 INFO - @@PRODUCT-NAME@@ @@VERSION-NO@@ (c) @@VENDOR@@, @@COPY
RIGHT-RANGE@@
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /
>>Oscar HTTP: serving up:/
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /
>>Oscar HTTP: handle for name:(path=/com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js)
>>Oscar HTTP: ** looking for: /com.ascert.webui.vt.VtWebUi.nocache.js


Scratching head a bit - since we changed so little!!

walkerr
13 Jun 2008, 4:54 AM
DOH!!

user I suspect, for which apologies. For some reason, build errors weren't showing in hosted mode or our build output, but digging deeper it seems we had some build failures:



[java] Removing units with errors
[java] [ERROR] Errors in 'file:/E:/Data/tas/proj/webui/src/com/ascert/webui/vt/client/MenuPanel.java'
[java] [ERROR] Line 157: The type new SelectionListener(){} must implement the inherited abstract method Listener.handleEvent(BaseEvent)


Guessing this is also down to API refactoring

walkerr
13 Jun 2008, 5:15 AM
Yep - that was it - refactored to use specific "types" of SelectionListener and seems to be working now

Sorry for red herring!

Farodin
29 Jun 2008, 3:23 AM
Hey i have the same problem with the SelectionListener, because of that I cant catch events from a button. How can i work around this problem?

gslender
29 Jun 2008, 1:57 PM
Farodin,

I'm not sure exactly what problem you are having, but this is how I grab button selections.


Button test = new Button("test");
SelectionListener<ComponentEvent> listener = new SelectionListener<ComponentEvent>() {
public void componentSelected(ComponentEvent be) {
// do something
}
};
test.addSelectionListener(listener);

Farodin
29 Jun 2008, 9:06 PM
I tried one listener for two buttons, but the source variable was empty so it didnt work in this way.