PDA

View Full Version : Tree implementation

cletus
1 Jul 2008, 7:03 PM
I'm new to Ext GWT, having done some previous work with My GWT.

I like the fact that GWT 1.5 has added generics and that Ext GWT is adding support for them.

That being said, I was shocked at the (imho unnecessary) complexity of the Tree implementation. This piece of code alone should set off alarm bells:

public interface TreeModel<T extends TreeModel> extends Model ...

which leads to things like:

BaseTreeModel<BaseTreeModel> ...

Its just overengineered and (again imho) wrong. A classic tree-like container with generics is implemented more typically with a composite pattern. The implementation could be greatly simplified by simply doing:

public interface Tree<T> {
T getItem();
Tree<T> getParent();
List<Tree<T>> getChildren();
}

rather than using "T extends TreeModel" polluting all your tree nodes by forcing them to implement TreeModel. The whole point of a container is to abstract relationships from that which is being stored, not to force the stored items to know about these external relationships.

Also, I'm sitting here looking at the implemtnation and seeing TreeBinders, TreeStores, etc and I have to scratch my head in wonder. Are trees really this hard? Speaking from some years of Swing experience, the answer is no, they're not. Even when you factor in capabilities to do lazy-loading and the like.

Or am I missing something here?

gslender
1 Jul 2008, 11:49 PM
I'd agree that the tree/table/combobox implementations at first glance are overly complex - the issue I think is more due to intended purpose and combined goals.

Eg. the tree implementation has bundled model and store functionality (which in itself is complicated by GWT multiple options for data loading).

I think there needs to be separation between Tree widget from a basic implementation perspective from the model/store/binder implementation.