PDA

View Full Version : Changing the CSS

MikeSteffler
27 Jul 2009, 11:11 AM
Hi, I'm a graphic designer, just got pulled into a project that uses Ext GWT. I'm supposed to go through the CSS and make a few sets of changes, saving several CSS files as 'skins'.

I have found that the CSS they're using is very long and complicated, and I have used Firebug to alter it on the fly, but I have not been able to have any real effect on the look of it...

I don't even know what all this GXT-GWT-mumbo-jumob even is. I'm just charged with altering a CSS.

Is there some sort of guide out there, some documentation that will guide me to the proper path to change?

Please help, I don't know where else I could go...

romero83
4 Aug 2009, 4:05 AM
Hi!

I'm a graphic designer too.
Find your project main html, jsp, ... and find for css definitions.

If you don't have any, than link into the project main html, jsp, ... : gxt-all.css and gxt-gray.css
Make sure that the Document Type Definition is HTML 4.01 Transitional, otherwise you may find some strange behaviour.

<link id="gxtAll" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="css/gxt-all.css" />
<link id="xthemeGray" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="css/gxt-gray.css" />For this point, you linked the main, original framework CSS files.
To create custom design, you have to link your own CSS files as well.
For example:

<link id="Project_CSS" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="Project_CSS.css" />
<!--[if IE 7]>
<link id="Project_CSS_IE7" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="Project_CSS_ie7.css"/>
<![endif]-->
<!--[if IE 6]>
<link id="Project_CSS_IE7" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="Project_CSS_ie7.css"/>
<link id="Project_CSS_IE6" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="Project_CSS_ie6.css"/>
<![endif]-->Etc.

But if you don't have a clear layout system on your project, than the CSS hack will be more difficult or maybe almost impossible.