PDA

View Full Version : Event handlers when working with Ext Designer

joejoemetoo
7 Apr 2010, 10:53 PM
Hi, I'm having trouble understanding how to write event handlers with code generated by Ext Designer.

For example, lets say I have a single button and upon clicking the button, I want a message box to appear. Ext generates two files MyButton.ui.js and MyButton.js.

Since its recommended not make modifications by hand to the MyButton.ui.js file, and any event handlers should go in the MyButton.js file.

However I am having trouble understanding how to write handlers - OK, I'm new to ExtJS, and I have limited JS skills, but I catch on real quick with any new product / language and I have not been able to work this one out on my own. I could not find any examples.

So, for example, if I want to show a simple message box if I were to edit the MyButton.ui.js file, I could add the following code to MyButton and it will work:

handler: function(){
Ext.MessageBox.confirm('Confirm', 'Are you sure you want to do that?');
}

However since the ui.js file should not be modified by hand, and all event handlers should be placed in the MyButton.js file, I'm not sure how to write the code to do that, or where exactly it needs to go.

Any help appreciated.

aconran
7 Apr 2010, 11:11 PM
So typically your button will be within a larger Panel/FormPanel/Grid etc. Place your button within a toolbar docked in a Panel just to give yourself a real world scenario.

Within the designer click on the button you want to add the handler to.

Navigate to the component configuration grid in the bottom right of the designer.

Search for "auto". In the "autoRef" configuration specify "confirmBtn".

Save your project.

Export your project.

Within YourPanel.js after initComponent's superclass has been invoked....
eg.

YourPanel.superclass.initComponent.call(this);
confirmBtn.on('click', this.onConfirmBtnClick, this);