Ext JS Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    caseyb is on a distinguished road

Default Best Practice Question - When to create a new class vs an instance?

Best Practice Question - When to create a new class vs an instance?

This is as much an object-oriented programming question as it is an extJS question:

We are re-writing a LARGE application here at work. It was originally written in a tag-based scripting language and we are re-writing it with an object-oriented/ext approach. It's a huge project and I'm pretty new to true object-oriented programming. Our question, to be very general, is this: When is it a good idea to extend an ext class into a new class as opposed to just creating an instance with the provided overrides? Or, to phrase it another way, when is an instance of an object too specific to be extended into a subclass?

I'm not sure I'm phrasing the general question clearly, so I'll ask in a more specific way too:

I am writing a very small module that uses a tree to display a parts breakdown report. For this module, I am using an EXT TreeLoader object. I am overriding the createNode() method to display special icons for each tree node. My plan was to create a class file with and to extend TreeNode into a special subclass used specifically for this module. It would look something like this:

Code:
    Ext.ns('Ext.ux.ConfigCompView');

Ext.ux.ConfigCompView.ConfigCompTreeLoader = Ext.extend(Ext.tree.TreeLoader, {
        dataUrl: 'config_data.js',
        requestMethod: 'get',

//Override createNode to set asm and comp icons
        createNode : function(attr){

if (attr.component) {
                attr.iconCls = 'component';
            }
            else if (attr.assembly) {
                attr.iconCls = 'assembly'
            }

return Ext.tree.TreeLoader.prototype.createNode.call(this, attr);
        }

});
    I will also create separate class files for the layout I end up using and for any other components I use.