Thank you for reporting this bug. We will make it our priority to review this report.
  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member htammen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Germany, Hannover
    Posts
    74
    Vote Rating
    0
    htammen is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default [CLOSED]Component.ref does not work anymore

    [CLOSED]Component.ref does not work anymore


    has the config option ref of class Component been removed?
    In Ext 3.3 I used this technique to get a reference to a component quite frequently because it produces much more readable code.
    Is this available in Ext 4.0 or will it come back?

  2. #2
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    72
    Vote Rating
    0
    kaigan is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    It have been replaced with ComponentQuery, see aconran's post here: http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...8-Ref-Property
    -

  3. #3
    Ext JS Premium Member htammen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Germany, Hannover
    Posts
    74
    Vote Rating
    0
    htammen is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    thank you. I´ve already seen this new class but it makes the code more unreadable than
    PHP Code:
    Ext.getCmp('myId').on(...) 
    In Ext 3.3 I used
    PHP Code:
    this.myId.on(...) 
    and with ComponentQuery it would be
    PHP Code:
    Ext.ComponentQuery.query('#myId')[0].on(...) 
    Decide by yourself which on is most readable. I hope the guys from Sencha read this and reconceive their decision to remove the ref config option.

  4. #4
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    16,989
    Vote Rating
    649
    evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Code:
    // for direct child
    this.child('selector').on(....);
    
    // for first matching child, any level
    this.down('selector').on();
    Evan Trimboli
    Sencha Developer
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Don't be afraid of the source code!

  5. #5
    Sencha User steffenk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Haan, Germany
    Posts
    2,664
    Vote Rating
    7
    steffenk has a spectacular aura about steffenk has a spectacular aura about steffenk has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    i think ref was not a bad idea, however you had to know the level of the component.
    There was already a discussion, and i hope to get something like referenced items in a component for easy assign.
    Easy would be a wrapper for ComponentQuery like this.getChildComponent(selector) - i prefer such for better readability, and to be different from DOM queries. At the end it's also a kind of taste.
    vg Steffen
    --------------------------------------
    Release Manager of TYPO3 4.5

  6. #6
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    16,989
    Vote Rating
    649
    evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute evant has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    @steffenk

    Those methods are there. Container has:
    query
    child
    down

    Component has:
    up
    Evan Trimboli
    Sencha Developer
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Don't be afraid of the source code!

Similar Threads

  1. Posts edit seems do not work anymore.
    By AndreaCammarata in forum Community Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31 Jan 2011, 10:42 AM
  2. add(Component) does not work anymore with 0.99
    By konki_vienna in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Nov 2010, 7:37 PM
  3. [CLOSED][3.1] <Component>.add(<Panel>) doesn't work
    By wceuppens in forum Ext 3.x: Bugs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2009, 5:01 AM
  4. adobe air 1.5 released - SWFUpload does not work anymore
    By bjt in forum Ext.air for Adobe AIR
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2 Dec 2008, 6:08 AM

Thread Participants: 3

Tags for this Thread