Vote Rating
    cluettr is on a distinguished road

Default Variable Placement? Controlling Memory Usage.

Variable Placement? Controlling Memory Usage.

All,

I am no expert, not even intermediate but I've got the hang of ext and javascript enough to be both dangerous and successful. My question is more javascript focused rather than Ext focused. However, I'm sure every ext novice might run into what I am running into and look for a solution.

When performing an XHR I often have the Ext.OnReady and/or particular functions in script tags at the beginning of the called script. I never felt it was the cleanest method. What I am finding is that memory is being crushed and my thoughts are that this method is not allowing IE to allocate and deallocate memory as it should.

Is it that I am initializing and assigning values to variables in the called script and calling them over and over again? Should the variables be initialized globally to avoid this issue? I hope an expert is understanding what I am trying to say here and might be able to give me some advice. Thank you in advance.

Rob

Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Vote Rating
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

I think that page fragments which are loaded through Ajax (XHRs) should be generated by code that is aware that it is only producing a page fragment and not a document.

This means that there should be no Ext.onReady produced.

It also means that where javascript is embedded in the fragment, the code production engine needs to be fully aware of the API supplied by your javascript application singleton that is in control of your main page. The code production engine should produce code which hooks into the application singleton to integrate any new UI elements being instantiated into the application's UI management.