Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    AlainP is on a distinguished road

Question Learning path for Ext 4?

Learning path for Ext 4?

Hi,

I am a backend dev (RoR/ .Net) who needs to move to front end dev and my team decided that we would use Ext. The question is: Where do we start? While there is a lot of online doc for Ext 2.0 and a few books for 3.0, there is next to nothing for people starting from scratch @ v4.0.

Most tutorials I have found do not work so I can only base my learning on the example provided with the download which (while good) are not the best way to learn when starting from scratch.

So the question is: what would be the best learning path for someone starting fresh (with no knowledge of previous version) with Ext 4.0?

Thx!

Vote Rating
    steffenk has a spectacular aura about steffenk has a spectacular aura about steffenk has a spectacular aura about

I suggest doing the first steps with Ext3, best is to get a book as "ExtJS in Action"
    Ext4 comes with a compatiblity layer which let you run all Ext3 examples with Ext4 (probably)

A good way is to follow the 4-forums to get an idea what you need to be prepared.
    In the 4-docs there are some basic tips, but they will be completed.

It's not that hard as you might think, you have to start understanding what a container is and how to fill containers with items.
    vg Steffen
    --------------------------------------
    Release Manager of TYPO3 4.5

Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    alien3d is on a distinguished road

Default learning path

learning path

For truth is hard. When i started using 0.33 I release application using 1.0
    When release 1.xx they release 2.00 New branch Code
    When release application 3.XXX .They release branch 4 code..
    And the mostly problemm.... fast changing structure..

** I'm working new code branch 3 .No choice for current now.. Performance still okay eventhough using iframe...

Sencha Premium Member
    Vote Rating