1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    20
    Vote Rating
    1
    jgarifuna is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default How do I default spinnerfield to number?

    How do I default spinnerfield to number?


    I would like to default spinnerfield so that the numeric keyboard shows up when entering entry manually. At the moment when the keyboard shows up when manually updating values for spinnerfield, it defaults to letters.

    Any ideas on how to make the keyboard default to numbers when changing values of spinnerfield manually?

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    36,620
    Vote Rating
    817
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    It extends Number field and if you use a Number field, the browser should pick up the type in the input tag and display the correct keyboard, in this case numbers. What device are you using?
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    20
    Vote Rating
    1
    jgarifuna is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I'm testing this on iPhone 4.2 and iPad 5.0 and both display the letters keyboard. Below is a screenshot for your reference:

  4. #4
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    36,620
    Vote Rating
    817
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Hmmm That's odd. Will have to play around with it to see what is going on as part of HTML5 is that the device *should* recognize the type on the input and display the correct keyboard. Hope iOS didn't take a step back.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    20
    Vote Rating
    1
    jgarifuna is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Well, the screenshot I posted was from a iphone running IOS 4.2. On the JQM mobile of the same app, using field type of number, works as expected by displaying the numeric keyboard.

  6. #6
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    36,620
    Vote Rating
    817
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Ok, if no one else doesn't get to it I have marked this to come back to it when I get back home and am able to play around with this.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    20
    Vote Rating
    1
    jgarifuna is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    thanks

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    FilipeMaia is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    The problem is that in the renderTpl of Spinner.js the input line is:

    '<input id="{inputId}" type="{type}" name="{name}" class="{fieldCls}"'

    and it should be:

    '<input id="{inputId}" type="{inputType}" name="{name}" class="{fieldCls}"'

  9. #9
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    20
    Vote Rating
    1
    jgarifuna is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    FilipeMaia,

    Thanks for pointing this out.

    I hope that the issue has been fixed in Sencha 2.0.

    I have released my app, Future Value of Money, on the App Store and the Android Market:

    http://garisoft.com/future_value_of_money

  10. #10
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    69
    Vote Rating
    0
    fairport is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    You are a saviour!
    This issue has been troubling me for months. Have just submitted a ST1 job to iTunes that has taken us about 40 man months & this issue was the one thing that was still troubling me.
    A quick edit of sencha-touch.js & we're fixed.
    Makes for an ugly UI on Safari in windows, but who cares.
    Thanks a million