Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    guy_davis is on a distinguished road

Talking Popular Baby Names app

Popular Baby Names app

Hi all,

Since my wife and I are expecting our first child in April, I was worried about choosing a baby name. So, I created a Google Maps mashup with popular baby names statistics from around the world to help in my search.

http://www.babynamemap.com

I went looking for a pop-up dialog and came across ExtJS. After using the basic dialog, I quickly hooked up the data grid for showing name stats. The tabs and AJAX update manager provided a great way of showing info on a particular name. The Aero theme also fit in great with my site.

It was a breeze hooking all this up. I used Ruby on Rails on the back-end with Prototype underneath ExtJS. The whole thing took about a month part-time (evenings and weekends). I'm a Java Swing developer by day so my web skills are pretty rusty and yet ExtJS was easy even for me to use!

Thanks a bunch to the ExtJS team for putting together a great library and toolkit with excellent documentation. I'm looking forward to using more of ExtJS in the near future. Keep up the great work!

Guy Davis
    Calgary, Canada

Ext User
    Vote Rating
    bitdifferent is on a distinguished road

That's really impressive, well done! Looking forward to seeing some UK data in there.

Is the tabbed popup from a map pin part of Google Maps's API? I haven't seen one quite like that before.

Matt S

Vote Rating
    steffenk has a spectacular aura about steffenk has a spectacular aura about steffenk has a spectacular aura about

very good! a big hand!

where did you got all the data from?

ah - one more: can you give me a hint how you realized the rating? i have to do this as well.
    vg Steffen
    --------------------------------------
    Release Manager of TYPO3 4.5

Sencha User
    Vote Rating