Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Vote Rating
    0
    jostster is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Exclamation Sencha Support?

    Sencha Support?


    So we currently have a mobile web app built with jQm but it has so many bugs that we are looking to move to another framework. We have been researching sencha touch and it looks very reliable and like a good solution. However, I have noticed by many articles on the web and from my own experience that trying to get a response from anyone at sencha is quit impossible.

    While playing around with the demo user interface in the forms, I noticed that I was able to disable the form fields yet I could still check and uncheck all the check boxes. I went to the contact us page to report this and never received a response. A potential customer of the premium support that does not get a response from the contact us form is not a very easy feeling. I don't feel like registering for a forum just to report a bug that should have already been noticed since it is part of their online demo.

    By not receiving a response this makes me hesitant to recommend Sencha Touch as our platform and for the company to dish out $300 for support that we will probably never get a response from.

    After reading this article http://interfacethis.com/2011/advent...tml5-part-one/ I noticed that I am not the only one to not get responses back.

    I think it is great you don't require a license for commercial products to use your platform however it makes us second guess on where this platform is headed and will it be supported in the future because we cannot even get a simple fix.

    It also makes me question about this product because there is no customer bug tracking system. We have to use the forums to follow and report bugs. That is a hassle...

    Anyways... Just thought I would rant about my frustrations for a first time potential sencha customer.

  2. #2
    Sencha Touch Premium User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portland, Maine USA
    Posts
    66
    Vote Rating
    1
    gordonjl is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I enjoy the Sencha Touch framework. With it I've been able to create some pretty interesting (and fun) solutions to clients needs.

    However....

    I'm frustrated, too, by my efforts this year to get a major bug fixed in the framework:

    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...Not-Fixed.-Why

    Sencha has so much promise, but if they are having challenges supporting even the above basic functionality, I'll have to consider other frameworks myself.

    Good luck.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Vote Rating
    0
    jostster is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Yea I noticed a bug that is about a year old with 3 pages of replies and still no resolution. Makes me think Sencha is a dying product.

  4. #4
    Ext JS Premium Member Juanito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego->Boston->Brazil
    Posts
    152
    Vote Rating
    3
    Juanito is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I agree, response in the standard forum is sub-par; however, if you have a gold subscription, you can post in the Sencha Premium Forums and you'll get a response there, most of the time, a useful one

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Vote Rating
    0
    jostster is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    This is not acceptable for a company. Being able to test the waters for support before we pay $300 would be nice. Simply trying to contact the company to notify them of a bug and receiving no responses is unacceptable. After browsing through the bugs forum I noticed most of the bugs reported go untouched without any developer response. Switching our application to Sencha and not being able to get bugs fixed would hurt our business. Making users pay to get any type of reply on a bug is just bad business. Of course if we were to invest in moving to sencha we would of course purchase the support package, however I do not think we will migrate to sencha after doing more research.

    Playing with the demo on both android and iphone I see many bugs and after a week and a half of reporting one and not getting a response it makes me think that this platform is not for our company.

  6. #6
    Sencha - Management Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    152
    Vote Rating
    1
    mmullany is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    The community forums are a venue for the entire community to help each other out as people try to create applications. Sencha Touch is a free commercial product and we have hundreds of thousands of people using it to create applications. Sencha folks participate actively, but there's no guarantee that you'll get a response to a question even if you're asking them "the right way" (ie. have done work to try to solve the problem yourself, checked that it's not a duplicate, post relevant source code and phrase your question politely).

    We do look at all the bug reports in the forums and transfer them to the internal bug system. We prioritize the bugs and fix them according to a sane prioritization scheme ("does it crash the browser" .. all the way to .. "minor thing that's sort of slow in one browser"). There is no guarantee that any particular bug will be fixed in any particular release, particularly if there is a workaround, but we look at the number and heat of posts against a particular bug and that factors into the fix order.

    Our sales contact form is not supposed to be used for bug reports, and I apologize if it gives that impression - that's what the bug forums are for. We literally get hundreds of questions a day into that contact form, we try to get to as many of them as we can. If we didn't get to yours then we apologize.

    Neither the general forum nor the sales contact form has a Service Level Agreement. That's where, if you purchase a support contract, we guarantee that we will get back to you within a certain time. Our goal is that our support ticket responses which come with a service level agreement are timely and helpful.

    I hope this helps address some of the issues you talk about above.

film izle

hd film izle

film sitesi

takipci kazanma sitesi

takipci kazanma sitesi

güzel olan herşey

takipci alma sitesi

komik eğlenceli videolar