Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    slgatff is on a distinguished road

Default Unanswered: Layout choice for text header and grid

Unanswered: Layout choice for text header and grid

Hi,

I'm new to Ext JS 4 and was wondering if anyone can give me some advice on the layout to use when creating a panel that contains a text header followed by a grid (or possibly a chart). As the panel is resized, I want the text to use as much space as it needs to display without using a scrollbar, pushing the grid/chart down to make room. I have tried using the vbox layout, but with the flex sizing, it is difficult to control the amount of space between the text field and the grid, i.e., the larger the size of the panel, the greater the amount of space between the text field and the grid. Since the text is a description of the grid contents, I want the vertical space between the two components to be constant.

Thanks for your time and advice,

Steve

Answers
    Vote Rating
    skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future skirtle has a brilliant future

I have tried using the vbox layout, but with the flex sizing, it is difficult to control the amount of space between the text field and the grid.
    Could you post a code example of this? Controlling the space between items in a vbox should be straightforward. You could either use margins:

http://docs.sencha.com/ext-js/4-0/#!...defaultMargins

or add in a spacer component with a fixed height:

Code:
    Ext.create('Ext.Component', {height: 12})

Sencha User
    Vote Rating

Skirtle,