1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    byroncorrales is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Question Answered: Sencha touch with hidden browser

    Answered: Sencha touch with hidden browser


    Hi, everyone I am new in sencha touch, actually I have just made "hello world", but I have a question.
    In Sencha Touch screenshots, it seems that apps does not need a browser to work or at least the browser is hidden.

    I would like to create an app that use sencha but that dont need a browser container to get a native look to the app. Is this possible?

  2. Hi and welcome.
    To achieve that you only need to develop your sencha touch app, navigate to it with your mobile device using Safari for the first time, and finally add it to your device home screen.
    This will allow you to give your application a "native"look to get a complete fullscreen usability without having defaults safari toolbars docked on top and bottom.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #2
    Sencha - Services Team AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,395
    Vote Rating
    23
    Answers
    148
    AndreaCammarata has a spectacular aura about AndreaCammarata has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    Hi and welcome.
    To achieve that you only need to develop your sencha touch app, navigate to it with your mobile device using Safari for the first time, and finally add it to your device home screen.
    This will allow you to give your application a "native"look to get a complete fullscreen usability without having defaults safari toolbars docked on top and bottom.

    Hope this helps.
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


  4. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    byroncorrales is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi Andrea, I really appreciate your answer.

    When you mentioned ", and finally add it to your device home screen" How can I do that,,, Is this process on documentation, or not depends to sencha? it's depends of the device configuration?

  5. #4
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,525
    Vote Rating
    871
    Answers
    3564
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  6. #5
    Sencha - Services Team AndreaCammarata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,395
    Vote Rating
    23
    Answers
    148
    AndreaCammarata has a spectacular aura about AndreaCammarata has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by byroncorrales View Post
    Hi Andrea, I really appreciate your answer.

    When you mentioned ", and finally add it to your device home screen" How can I do that,,, Is this process on documentation, or not depends to sencha? it's depends of the device configuration?
    You are welcome.
    Yes it depends on which device you are running the application on.

    Quote Originally Posted by mitchellsimoens View Post
    Nice suggestion
    Sencha Inc
    Andrea Cammarata, Solutions Engineer
    Owner at SIMACS

    @AndreaCammarata
    www.andreacammarata.com
    github: https://github.com/AndreaCammarata

    TUX components bundle for Sencha Touch 2.x.x
    https://github.com/AndreaCammarata/TUX


  7. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    byroncorrales is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    @Andrea and @Mitchel Thanks for your suggestions. Now That I know that is possible I am going to create my first try and worry for this later.

    Thanks again

Thread Participants: 2

Tags for this Thread