1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Vote Rating
    0
    elcalibano is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Combining Animations from Different Projects into one new project

    Combining Animations from Different Projects into one new project


    I've created several character animations, made up of lots of animated parts, in different project files. Is it possible to combine these characters into a new animation. Without having to do some work-around editing of an HTML file. In other words, can you do this in Sencha? Take a bunch of grouped/nested objects, already animated and copy and paste them or somehow get them into another animation?

  2. #2
    Sencha User arnebech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    498
    Vote Rating
    10
    arnebech will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Parts (but not animations) can be added to your library and exported/imported though it.

    If you want to move animations across projects, you could try to copy/paste them from project to project, however, images will not copy over, so you would have to go to your image objects and add the image again or go to your project folder and copy over the image assets manually.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Vote Rating
    0
    elcalibano is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I'm not sure what you mean, copy and paste them from project to project. Let's take the following example. Let's
    say I have a monkey in one project, and that monkey is made up of separate objects for eyes, face, mouth, arms, legs, all grouped/nested together (I call them containers now since the Beta version called them containers). So, I name that nest Monkey Container. I've got keyframes on all those object layers, rotating them, moving the positions, to bring that monkey to life, let's say, have him walking from what appears to be far away to up close (which I do by keyframing the scaling). Now, in another project, for whatever reason, I've created this separately, perhaps thinking it'd go with some other concept, I have a jungle scene with lots of separate layers of trees, leaves, vines, etc. all also moving, saying swaying in the wind. Now, I want to add that moving monkey to the scene. I can't just click on the "container" or nest and copy and paste that. It doesn't appear that I can even command click on multiple keyframes to copy those, as one might in After Effects. So, I understand that I can use the same pieces that make up the monkey, and animate them again. But what I'm saying is, after spending all the time getting the money to move in exactly the way I want, I would love to be able to not have to recreate that animation.

    On another note, another question. Let's say I have multiple animations in an app.

    If there is some recurring asset, let's say it's the hypothetical monkey illustration, and it's named monkey.png, and I have at least two animations that both use the exact same image. Can I just have this one money.png file and import it into these two separate projects, and export those HTML files, where they'd be pulling the images from the asset folder, which would have just that one money.png file? Do I have to have two separate files, basically a duplicate of one image, with different names? monkey1.png and monkey2.png? Or if it's in the library then it can just be the one file? If the code in the HTML file just calls up a particular image at a particular time, wouldn't each animation that uses that monkey.png file just call it up when needed? Why does it even need to go through the library?

    The way the folders are set up is that all the assets are in one big folder that the various html files/animations pull from.


    Quote Originally Posted by arnebech View Post
    Parts (but not animations) can be added to your library and exported/imported though it.

    If you want to move animations across projects, you could try to copy/paste them from project to project, however, images will not copy over, so you would have to go to your image objects and add the image again or go to your project folder and copy over the image assets manually.

  4. #4
    Sencha User arnebech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    498
    Vote Rating
    10
    arnebech will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    1) Select your top-most object, "Monkey Container", in the object tree, then go to Edit->Copy. Open up your new project and go Edit->Paste. This should copy all the children and all animations. However, image assets are not copied. You'll have to manually copy them from the old project asset folder to the new one, or use the property editor to reimport images. Once the images are put into the asset folder you have to save and close animator and reopen it (images are cached, including missing images). You can multiple select several object if they are on the same level in the tree (e.g. have the same parent).

    2) The asset folder keeps all images. When you add an image with the same name as an existing image, the old image will be overwritten. However, the old image is still cached in the system, so you have to close and reopen animator to see the new image. I think your answer is that you only need the one "monkey.png" file.

    We're working on making sharing between projects easier.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    30
    Vote Rating
    0
    exs is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    the copy and paste doesn't seem to work as described

  6. #6
    Sencha User arnebech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    498
    Vote Rating
    10
    arnebech will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Would you mind elaborating on how it is not working? Are you selecting the objects (not the keyframes)?

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    30
    Vote Rating
    0
    exs is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Selected a nested group object with children. Hit copy, went to different project and tried paste, Paste doesn't even show as option in menu. Thx.

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    30
    Vote Rating
    0
    exs is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I was on a PC when I tried this. Went to a Mac and it seems to work. Which brings the next question, on a pc I can have multiple instances of Animator running, which makes it easy to switch between projects. On a Mac I can only have one project open at a time. Is this an OS thing or is it possible to have multiple projects open in OS X?

  9. #9
    Sencha User arnebech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    498
    Vote Rating
    10
    arnebech will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    So on Windows you can run several instances of the same program, but OS X limits you to run one instance. Copy/paste will not work across instances, only in the same program, so you have to make sure to stay in the same instance on Windows for copy/paste to work properly at the moment.

    As for opening up multiple documents within Animator, I can't give you any timeline on that, but it would be a nice feature.

Thread Participants: 2

Tags for this Thread

Turkiyenin en sevilen filmlerinin yer aldigi xnxx internet sitemiz olan ve porn sex tarzi bir site olan mobil porno izle sitemiz gercekten dillere destan bir durumda herkesin sevdigi bir site olarak tarihe gececege benziyor. Sitenin en belirgin ozelliklerinden birisi de Turkiyede gercekten kaliteli ve muntazam, duzenli porno izle siteleri olmamasidir. Bu yuzden iste. Ayrica en net goruntu kalitesine sahip adresinde yayinlanmaktadir. Mesela diğer sitelerimizden bahsedecek olursak, en iyi hd porno video arşivine sahip bir siteyiz. "The Best anal porn videos and slut anus, big asses movies set..."