1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    Chuckda4th is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Unanswered: Making the menu structure in kitchen sink pull from a database

    Unanswered: Making the menu structure in kitchen sink pull from a database


    Looking for a bit of help on modifying the kitchen sink demo so that the menu on the left pulls from a SQL server database.

    My main goal is to set up a page such that an admin can change the menu structure in kitchen sink a web page. I have a SQL database built that stores the structure, and the admin utility is 90% done. My next step is getting the actual front end to use that info in the database.

    I have experience building AJAX calls in HTML that hit ASP pages to inject code into the HTML based on a query in the database, but I'm having some issues doing effectively the same thing on the kitchen sink demo so that the menu structure is updated. I know that the structure.js file is what drives the menu structure, and I've manually edited that to update with a static menu, so I'm familiar with that. My main issue is how do I update the structure.js file so it can hit a server-side .asp page to pull in an array with the current structure from the database.

    I should be fine once I have the array pulled in from the .asp page, but I just don't know to do that so its accessible from the structure.js file.

    Thanks a bunch in advance!

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,347
    Answers
    3542
    Vote Rating
    846
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    The menu structure is just a nested list I believe which uses a tree store which you can setup to load tree structure.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    Chuckda4th is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Do you have any examples of how to pull the tree store from an AJAX source?

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    Chuckda4th is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I see that Sencha offers support services - do they offer paid consulting to build the page that I need?

  5. #5
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,347
    Answers
    3542
    Vote Rating
    846
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by Chuckda4th View Post
    I see that Sencha offers support services - do they offer paid consulting to build the page that I need?
    We have a professional services team that you can contract out.

    http://www.sencha.com/contact/
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    0
    Chuckda4th is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I tried contacting them via the link you posted a couple weeks ago now, but still have not heard back.

    I see that we probably need to use Ext.data.TreeStore, but I can't find any examples where it is populated from a database. I've come across a few code examples of what doesn't work for people trying to do almost the same thing, but those ones in particular were never replied to.

    Any ideas?

Thread Participants: 1

Tags for this Thread