Ext User
    Vote Rating
    LeibNiZ is on a distinguished road

Question Dynamically creating a form with correct field list

Dynamically creating a form with correct field list

Hi,

I'm new to ExtJs and I want to create a simple form with a couple of fields to edit let's say the properties of an object like an new paper article. This object has a couple of properties like an author, a publication date, the actual content, and so on... I need to be able to create a form with the correct field list, to load the data from an XML file and to submit the changes (if there is) back to the server. This is not so complicated but the tricky part is to make a generic form so that it can create and load data from other objects as well.

For example, let's say we have 2 objects, an article and a photo. Both derive from a super class "Asset" that has generic attributes but they also have different attributes like "Author" for the Article and "Size" for the Photo.

The problem is quite simple, is it possible to create such a form ? taking an XML as input with the field list like

<Fields>
    <Field id="1">
    <Name>Author</Name>
    <Type>string</Type>
    </Field>
    </Fields>

Thx in advanced,
    LeibNiZ

Ext User
    Vote Rating
    SeaSharp is on a distinguished road

I suggest that you have a play with the excellent interactive form builder application available in the examples forum. When you have manually assembled a form that fits one of your example XML documents click on the button that generates an array of form elements in JSON and study the format.

You should then see how you could iterate over an XML doc and programmatically generate a suitable array of form JSON elements.

If the XML doc source is the web server, why not build the form element array server-side using a proper compiled language, then ship the form element array to the browser and instantiate the form.

Ext User
    Vote Rating