1. #31
    Sencha Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    482
    Vote Rating
    1
    Wolfgang is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Animal,
    some questions about this:
    Quote Originally Posted by Animal View Post
    In the latest drop, you can specify what the callback function name is.
    ...
    Is the latest drop the src on page 1 of this posting (the example you have given)?

    What happens to the DOM when using scripttagproxy or this version of ext.data.connection in terms of adding scripts dynamically?
    I mean, will the script tags add up on each response thus increase memory usage?
    If so, can they be removed in a sort of garbage collection, similar to how ext works inernally?

  2. #32
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    580
    Vote Rating
    0
    dolittle is an unknown quantity at this point

      0  

    Default


    As far as I know they are destroyed.
    Taken from anymal's code:
    Code:
     destroyScriptTrans : function(trans, isLoaded){
            document.getElementsByTagName("head")[0].removeChild(document.getElementById(trans.scriptId));
            clearTimeout(trans.timeoutId);
            if(isLoaded){
                window[trans.cb] = undefined;
                try{
                    delete window[trans.cb];
                }catch(e){}
            }else{
                // if hasn't been loaded, wait for load to remove it to prevent script error
                window[trans.cb] = function(){
                    window[trans.cb] = undefined;
                    try{
                        delete window[trans.cb];
                    }catch(e){}
                };
            }
        }
    I wish someone could help me with this.
    It's a cross domain communication that uses a proxy.html file and url fragment identifiers based on YUI.

    The proxy.html file is being cached on the client so there is no round trip to the server.

    If you have access to the remote server and can place the proxy.html file you can use normal ajax calls which are much better then dynamic script tags.

  3. #33
    Sencha Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    482
    Vote Rating
    1
    Wolfgang is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Thank you.
    May you can tell me weher to get the latest drop of the code?

  4. #34
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    504
    Vote Rating
    0
    vtswingkid is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I love it! Thanks!

  5. #35
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    504
    Vote Rating
    0
    vtswingkid is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    So the new Ext.lib.Ajax.isCrossDomain should make it so that all requests can now be crossdomain? i.e. TreeLoader with a url http://whatever/x.php would automatically generate a GET request to that crossdomain url? Same with store.load?

    I am getting ready to find out for myself...will post back unless someone already knows.

  6. #36
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Notts/Redwood City
    Posts
    30,508
    Vote Rating
    58
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    It does work. I had to use it on a project recently where I ran the app locally, but had to pull in data for a TreePanel and a DataView from the client's server in Australia!

  7. #37
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    504
    Vote Rating
    0
    vtswingkid is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I am creating a redundancy server that sits over top of an unlimited number of remote servers. So I have tons of crossdomain.

    So when you create grid you specify a url. Can I respecify the url on load with out overriding data.Store.load?
    So in otherwords on one refresh the data may be pulled from a remote server. On another refresh, that server may be down and it needs to be pulled from the redundancy server.

  8. #38
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Notts/Redwood City
    Posts
    30,508
    Vote Rating
    58
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    If you're using JSON, and the server knows that when a callback name is passed, it has to wrap the data in a call to that name, then it should just work.

  9. #39
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    504
    Vote Rating
    0
    vtswingkid is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I confirmed that uploads work great as you mentioned in the Features Thread. I'll keep my conversation here for now on.

    I have an issue where I create a data store and the need to check a status flag to see which url to request data from on each load. So I am using the beforeload event and updating the store.proxy.url. This seems like a good way to achieve this, is there one better?

  10. #40
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Notts/Redwood City
    Posts
    30,508
    Vote Rating
    58
    Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about Animal has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    SHouldn't that be

    Code:
    store.proxy.conn.url
    ?