Looks like we can't reproduce the issue or there's a problem in the test case provided.
  1. #1
    Sencha - Support Team slemmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    4,789
    Vote Rating
    167
    slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default [4.1 B2] Tree layout issues from a Windows Server

    [4.1 B2] Tree layout issues from a Windows Server


    Not sure if I should post this as a new post since it's in 4.1 Beta 2 or not, but since it wasn't reproducable in 4.1 Beta 1 I'll post again. I'm seeing quite a few issues with Beta on our Windows webserver that don't happen on the file system. We have projects under 2.2, 3.x, and 4.0.7 on the same webserver that are working ok. I can put the same sample code up on my own Apache server and it works ok.


    REQUIRED INFORMATION Ext version tested:
    • Ext 4.1 rev B2
    Browser versions tested against:
    • IE8
    • FF5 (firebug 1.8.1)
    DOCTYPE tested against:
    • strict
    Description:
    • A tree will have horizontal scrollbar even with a very small root/node in an accommodating container. This doesn't happen on the file system or on an Apache server, but does on our Windows server. Looking at the screenshots you can also see slight differences in the tab font and tree node icons, etc.
    Steps to reproduce the problem:
    • Just need a tree on a Windows webserver (Windows Server 2008R2 in my case).
    The result that was expected:
    • See screenshot 2 with no horizontal scrollbar taken from my file system with the same sample script.
    The result that occurs instead:
    • A horizontal scrollbar and a tree panel with a clientWidth of like 10000.
    Test Case:
    Code:
     Ext.onReady(function () {
        Ext.widget('viewport', {
            layout: 'border'
            , items: [{
                region: 'center'
                , dockedItems: [{
                    xtype: 'toolbar'
                    , dock: 'top'
                    , items: ['->', {
                        text: 'one'
                    }, {
                        text: 'two'
                    }, '->']
                }]
                , layout: 'card'
                , items: [{
                    layout: 'border'
                    , items: [{
                        xtype: 'treepanel'
                        , region: 'west'
                        , width: 200
                        , store: Ext.create('Ext.data.TreeStore', {
                            root: {
                                children: [{
                                    text: 'My Node'
                                    , children: [{
                                        text: 'Leaf'
                                        , leaf: true
                                    }]
                                }]
                            }
                        })
                    }, {
                        xtype: 'tabpanel'
                        , region: 'center'
                        , items: [{
                            title: '...app/module'
                            , itemId: 'perm'
                        }]
                    }]
                }]
            }]
        })
    });
    HELPFUL INFORMATION Screenshot or Video:
    • Webserver screenshot
    • File System screenshot
    See this URL for live test case: N/A Debugging already done:
    • none
    Possible fix:
    • not provided
    Additional CSS used:
    • only default ext-all.css
    Operating System:
    • WinXP Pro



    Windows Server 2008 R2
    tree_web_server.PNG

    File System
    tree_file_system.PNG

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    36,522
    Vote Rating
    814
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Odd... the server doesn't do any rendering
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha - Support Team slemmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    4,789
    Vote Rating
    167
    slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    I wouldn't think that'd have any bearing either. I had reported this on B1 as well and Evant wasn't able to reproduce the issue when he tested which sent me back to the drawing board. So, I did some more testing and discovered things worked fine on the file system, but not on our Windows servers. So, I published the example script to my own Apache server and sure enough - worked.

    I've got 4 projects running on 4.0.7 today on the same servers so I swap the reference to the 4.0.7 library and re-publish and the issues go away. Change back to 4.1 B1 or B2 and up come the rendering/layout issues.

  4. #4
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    36,522
    Vote Rating
    814
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    The server shouldn't have any affect on the rendering, all it's doing is transporting the file and the browser will then render it. Probably don't have to say that but just thinking in text.

    Unless the browser is going into compat mode or something from a special header I'm not too sure what's going on. I don't have windows server lying around so I can use apache all day long and won't be able to reproduce this.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  5. #5
    Ext JS Premium Member tvanzoelen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Groningen - Netherlands
    Posts
    1,111
    Vote Rating
    30
    tvanzoelen has a spectacular aura about tvanzoelen has a spectacular aura about tvanzoelen has a spectacular aura about

      0  

    Default


    I use a windows server and have no problem as you describe. You could try to disable all cache first to see if no css files are cached.

    Or you can make a simple rule in the webserver for disabling cache for .css extentions. The webserver sets a default private cache. that can mess things up.

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    17
    Vote Rating
    0
    Rob Hogan is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I can't explain FF but in IE it's worth opening developer tools and checking that both locations render in the same modes (browser and document).

    I've had issues before with IE forcing compatibility view only when the server is on the same AD domain/intranet as the client, and was only able to overcome it with a change to group policy.

  7. #7
    Sencha - Community Support Team hendricd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    5,962
    Vote Rating
    10
    hendricd will become famous soon enough hendricd will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Content served to Local Intranet zones from Window Servers are coerced into IE8 Compatability Mode (which Ext has never supported).

    To get control of your rendering abilities again, add this <meta> tag (must be the first child in the <head> section):

    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=Edge" />

    Flush your cache and give it a try.

    Other browsers will happily ignore it.
    "be dom-ready..."
    Doug Hendricks

    Maintaining ux: ManagedIFrame, MIF2 (FAQ, Wiki), ux.Media/Flash, AudioEvents, ux.Chart[Fusion,OFC,amChart], ext-basex.js/$JIT, Documentation Site.


    Got Sencha licensing questions? Find out more here.


  8. #8
    Sencha - Support Team slemmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    4,789
    Vote Rating
    167
    slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Group Policy is indeed enforcing compatibility mode on intranet sites. I can turn that off per browser and Ext.userAgent happily reports that IE8 is IE8 (Browser Mode: IE8 and Document Mode: IE8 Standards). That fixed the trigger field rendering issue I was seeing for now, but if I deploy to the employee base on 4.1 all of their trigger fields will render incorrectly as the meta tag didn't override the browser setting and IT won't remove the policy as that would break a number of internal antiques (http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...dows-webserver).

    The treepanel anomoly and the menu shadow (http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...ed-from-shadow) I'm not yet able to chase down. Both cases are showing render errors in 4.1 B2 in IE8 and FF5 and both render correctly in 4.0.7.

    I'd be happy to do more testing / reporting, but not sure what to check for next.

    Thx for the help.

  9. #9
    Sencha - Support Team slemmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    4,789
    Vote Rating
    167
    slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold slemmon is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    1000 apologies.
    I figured it out. In the past when auditioning code I'd take an existing file and point the ext-all.js lib to the new version and test. If all's well then I'd roll apps over to a newer version. Not a great practice if I don't also point to the latest css file, too. When no one else was complaining or could reproduce the anomalies I knew it was something I was doing, but couldn't figure out what.

    Sorry for the wasted effort looking for bugs that just weren't there. Please consider this thread closed.