1. #1
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    natalya1 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Can the same project be modified in both Sencha Designer and any other Tool?

    Can the same project be modified in both Sencha Designer and any other Tool?


    Based on Sench Conference Designer Vide I assumed that the same project can be modified using both Sencha Designer Tool and also any other Development Tool of choice like Visual Studio, Aptana, Notepad, etc.
    We did a simple test: created a project with a single from in Designer. Form has a single button. Then we opened the source in Notepad and modified button label as

    {
    xtype: 'button',
    itemId: 'mybutton',
    text: 'Modified'
    }

    When you run application you see a new 'Modified' text.
    But if you open the same project in Designer, it still displays original Button text.
    We found that label is also stored in the metadata files that developers are not supposed to modify. And this is why the old label is displayed in Designer.

    Is this a bug with Designer?

  2. #2
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,363
    Vote Rating
    128
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by natalya1 View Post
    Is this a bug with Designer?
    No, the files that are in the ui directory the designer "owns". You can never touch them outside. They are one to one with the metadata.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Vote Rating
    0
    peterfriese is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Well - this sounds like a serious drawback. There are a number of reasons why you would want to modify files outside Designer, the missing support for code completion being one of them.

    Are you considering rescanning the contents of project files, or is this behaviour by design / intended?

Thread Participants: 2