Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    bhaidaya is on a distinguished road

Question How can i make a reusable Custom Component

How can i make a reusable Custom Component

How do i add a custom component to my toolbox correctly?..

I'm new to designer. I've been with Extjs since it was called yui-ext.

I am currently as an exercise taking an existing application and trying to implement it into the sencha 2 beta designer. So far so good! But I can't wrap my brain around the approach for this next part..

I have a library of reusable custom components ( don't we all?) and i am unable to decipher how to get them into my toolbox correctly.

I've re-created my custom component lets call it 'XGridPanel' in a normal Ext.grid.Panel. I then right click and save to toolbox.

Q1: How do I get the custom component to correctly extend the base class eg.extend: 'Ext.grid.Panel' instead of extend: 'MyApp.view.ui.XGridPanel'

Q2: Can someone illuminate why when i reuse this component elsewhere it extends 'MyApp.view.ui.XGridPanel'?

Q3: How can i get it to simply extend my existing lib/namespace (lets call it XYZ) 'xyz.grid.Panel'

Are there any resources or help related to the toolbox and custom component management?

Sencha User
    Vote Rating

After Re-watching the video i can see the use of the userAlias and userClassName in conjunction with the drag drop of the panel. That all makes sense.

I'm still a bit confused on the namespacing but this helps me in the right direction.

Sencha User
    Vote Rating

I was able to add several custom components in but am unable to do a certain few.

Is it possible to introduce a custom reader extended from the Ext.data.reader.Json?

I need to override the extractData function and can't seem to see a way.

Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Vote Rating