Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    Pro1712 is on a distinguished road

Default Data Binding

Data Binding

Hi!

I'm new to GWT / GXT.

How can I do generic data binding with a grid / tree / textfield, ...?

I've got a database with more than 500 tables and thousands of queries.
    I can't create interafces and classes for every query!

The approach in the samples with classes an interafces for every object is ok for a small number of objects but not for a huge numer of objects.
    So how can I handle this?

Thanks for your help!

Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    Fedy2 is on a distinguished road

Hi,
    I have the same problem. We're creating a generic system for visualizing tables therefore we can't create a data model for each table.
    With GXT 2.X you can use the ModelData interface to "create" those fields dynamically, but I can't find a solution for GXT 3.

Someone has already faced with this problem?

Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Vote Rating
    Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light Colin Alworth is a glorious beacon of light

GXT 3 is if anything more flexible than 2.x - while it is encouraged to use bean-like objects, there is no reason you can't write a ModelData-like class with string-based properties.

Stores, DataLoaders, and DataProxys are all generic enough to handle any type at all, and the requirements of the data widgets are merely to implement a ValueProvider instance to read and write values as needed.

For a hypothetical example, you could pass Map<String, Double> as your data to and from the server. You'd then have a ListStore<Map<String, Double>>, and a Grid<Map<String, Double>>. Each column could have a hand made ValueProvider (this is just an interface, you can implement it however you'd like) that may look about like this:

Code: