Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    Ashwin.sharma is on a distinguished road

Default Need help whether to use Ext or not?

Need help whether to use Ext or not?

I need a help to decide whether working with ExtJS 4 is good at this point or not. I am new with Ext.

Our application has been developed with regular HTML, CSS, Javascript and Jquery.
    I contains components like grid, tree, accordion etc. All has been done. But we are thinking to replace these with Ext. We are very happy with the features provided by Ext. Especially, the look and feel of components and the grid are very good. Since I have been exploring Ext for certain days I have learn't about the folder heirarchy and MVC coding structures. Also the syntax of Ext is completely different than regular javascript and jquery. Now I feel that it is getting very difficult to include these components. I want to know is it good to include Ext library in an existing application without hampering much of the coding. Shall we proceed with Ext or not?

Vote Rating
    tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all tobiu is a name known to all

a good starting point are the guides:
    http://docs.sencha.com/ext-js/4-0/#!/guide

imho the biggest difference is the way you write code. with jquery it is still comon to write plain html and mix it with js code. with ext js the way to go is to write:

Code:
    <body></body>
    and let the js do everything. i would recommend to directly start using the 4.1 beta and use the ext mvc. this would probably require to rewrite big parts of your app (except the business logic), but you will gain benefits regarding maintenance etc.
    Best regards
    Tobias Uhlig

S-CIRCLES Social Network Engine

Sencha User
    Vote Rating
    Ashwin.sharma is on a distinguished road