Looks like we cannot reproduce this. Please provide another test case to reproduce this issue.
  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29
    Vote Rating
    0
    joseph09 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default [4.1 RC1] setFieldLabel on fieldcontainer error in Firefox

    [4.1 RC1] setFieldLabel on fieldcontainer error in Firefox


    REQUIRED INFORMATION


    Ext version tested:
    • Ext 4.1 RC1

    Browser versions tested against:
    • FF11.0
    • IE9
    • Chrome

    Description:
    • When calling setFieldLabel on a field container in FireFox the fields overlap the label. Works fine in IE & Chrome


    Test Case:

    Code:
       
    Ext.onReady(function() {
        Ext.QuickTips.init();
    
        var form = Ext.create('Ext.form.Panel', {
            renderTo: 'docbody',
            title   : 'FieldContainers',
            autoHeight: true,
            width   : 600,
            bodyPadding: 10,
            defaults: {
                anchor: '100%',
                labelWidth: 100
            },
            items   : [{
                            xtype: 'fieldcontainer',
                            fieldLabel: 'Phone',
                            id: 'phone',
                            combineErrors: true,
                            msgTarget: 'under',
                            layout: 'hbox',
                            defaults: {
                                hideLabel: true
                            },
                            items: [
                                {xtype: 'displayfield', value: '('},
                                {xtype: 'textfield',    fieldLabel: 'Phone 1', name: 'phone-1', width: 29, allowBlank: false},
                                {xtype: 'displayfield', value: ')'},
                                {xtype: 'textfield',    fieldLabel: 'Phone 2', name: 'phone-2', width: 29, allowBlank: false, margins: '0 5 0 0'},
                                {xtype: 'displayfield', value: '-'},
                                {xtype: 'textfield',    fieldLabel: 'Phone 3', name: 'phone-3', width: 48, allowBlank: false}
                            ]
                        }
            ]
        });
        
        
        Ext.getCmp('phone').setFieldLabel('New Phone Label');
        
    });


    HELPFUL INFORMATION


    Screenshot:
    setFieldLabel_bug.jpg

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,652
    Vote Rating
    901
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Thanks for the report. Also happening in FF10
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    1
    rhamflett is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I've just run into this too. I didn't try RC1 but I've just upgraded to RC2 and this is now a problem for me.

    Works OK on:
    Internet Explorer 9.0.8.16421
    Safari 5.1.2 (7534.52.7)
    Opera 11.60 (build 1185)

    Error occurs on:
    Firefox 9.0.1 (Firebug 1.9.0)
    Chrome 16.0.912.75m

    Thanks,
    Rob

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29
    Vote Rating
    0
    joseph09 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Yes this bug still exists in RC2 and affects fields as well as fieldcontainers.

    The solution I used is this override -

    Code:
    Ext.override(Ext.form.field.Base, {
        setFieldLabel: function($Label) {
            this.fieldLabel = $Label;
            Ext.get(this.getEl().query("label")[0]).update(this.fieldLabel+this.labelSeparator);
        }
    });
    The solution is from this thread -
    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...=setFieldLabel

  5. #5
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,652
    Vote Rating
    901
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Please note you should use Ext.define instead.

    Code:
    Ext.define('Override.form.field.Base', {
        override : 'Ext.form.field.Base',
    
        setFieldLabel: function(label) {
            this.fieldLabel = label;
    
            Ext.get(this.getEl().query("label")[0]).update(label + this.labelSeparator);
        }
    });
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29
    Vote Rating
    0
    joseph09 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    The solution I posted above no longer seems to be working for me.

    Anyone have a better suggestion?

    Was really hoping this bug would have been fixed in RC2.

  7. #7
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    1
    rhamflett is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Sorry, I made a slight mistake in my list of tested browsers. Opera and Chrome and were the wrong way round. The list should be:

    Works OK on:
    Internet Explorer 9.0.8.16421
    Safari 5.1.2 (7534.52.7)
    Chrome 16.0.912.75m


    Error occurs on:
    Firefox 9.0.1 (Firebug 1.9.0)
    Opera 11.60 (build 1185)

    I tried editing my original post but nothing happens when I click save (on Firefox and Chrome)

  8. #8
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    1
    rhamflett is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    This appears to have been fixed in RC3.

Thread Participants: 2