1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    76
    Vote Rating
    0
    jop_008 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Getting started SDK tools

    Getting started SDK tools


    Hi,

    I am trying to get the Getting started app going. I donwloaded the GPL and placed it in:

    d:\migration_d\Openmodeling\apache-tomcat-7.0.26\webapps\web_ios\sencha-touch-2.0.0-gpl\

    I downloaded the SDK tools beta for windows and let him install in the above directory.
    When I go to a command shell and type in sencha nothing happend. I found in the bin dir a sencha.bat file. When I switch to that window and run the suggested command:

    sencha generate app GS ../GSNothing happens. What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks for helping me.

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,548
    Vote Rating
    872
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    If you type 'sencha' and nothing happens then you need to have a PATH point to the directory where you installed the SDK Tools keeping in mind not to install to the 'Program Files (x86)' if on a 64 bit windows PC
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    76
    Vote Rating
    0
    jop_008 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default SDK tools windows starting problem / how to use on a Mac

    SDK tools windows starting problem / how to use on a Mac


    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply on the windows site. Putting the SDK dir in the path dir didn't help.
    I installed it in the directory as mentioned in the thread. There is no senchan command in that directory. So the sencha command can not be found.

    Tried it on OSx on the Mac also:

    usage: sencha COMMAND [ARGS]


    The available commands are:
    build build a JSB project
    create bootstrapdata generate boostrap data
    create jsb generate a minimal JSB project for an app
    create locale generate a template locale file from source
    create manifest generate classes manifest
    package package your Touch web app into a native bundle
    slice theme slice a custom theme's images for IE


    See 'sencha help COMMAND' for more information on a specific command.
    John-O-Mac-mini-Intel-Duo-Screen-5encha-touch-2.0.0-gpl jophof$ sencha generate app GS ../GS
    John-O-Mac-mini-Intel-Duo-Screen-5encha-touch-2.0.0-gpl jophof$

    The sencha generate step doesn't verbose anything and no app is generated.

    John

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    357
    Vote Rating
    4
    maneljn is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    when i try this in windows 7 home 32 bits , sencha sdk 2 beta, nothing happens:

    Code:
    sencha app create MyApp /path/to/www/myapp
    If i execute "sencha" alone it finds the program via path well.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    357
    Vote Rating
    4
    maneljn is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    i found the solution , it's a little bit crazy, but...

    You have to follow strictly this steps:

    http://docs.sencha.com/touch/2-0/#!/guide/command

    Step 1: Setup an HTTP server on your computer if you don't have one running. This guide assumes that the host name is localhost, and the document root is at /path/to/wwwStep 2: Download and install the latest SDK Tools on your development machine. The latest version as of this writing is 2.0.0 beta.
    Step 3: Download the latest Sencha Touch 2 SDK. Extract the SDK to a local directory.Step 4: Verify that Sencha Command is working properly on your machine:Open a command line terminal, and run the following commands. Replace /path/to/sencha-touch-2-sdk with the actual path to the SDK that you extracted to previously, as mentioned in Step 2.
    cd /path/to/sencha-touch-2-sdk senchaBut here comes the problem !!
    This /path/to/sencha-touch-2-sdk folder is NOT the folder where you installed the program in step 2 ... is the folder where you have unzipped the Sencha touch 2 library in step 3 !!!!!!
    Sencha has to be executed "seeing" the library folder.

    I do it like this and the it works well, sencha has app parameter, etc...

    It's very confusing.

    Manel

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    antonix is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I have the same problem as hop_008.
    My SDK Tools are installed in /Applications/SDK-Tools.
    My SDK Touch is in ~/Dev/sencha-touch-2.0.0-commercial

    now, when I navigate to cd ~/Dev/sencha-touch-2.0.0-commercial, and then run sencha I do not get 'touch' commands, only the ones which hop_008 provided on the screenshot. The same story happens on the Windows 7.

    Code:
    MacBook-Air:sencha-touch-2.0.0-commercial dev$ sencha
    Sencha Command v2.0.0 Beta
    Copyright (c) 2012 Sencha Inc.
    
    
    usage: sencha COMMAND [ARGS]
    
    The available commands are:
       build            build a JSB project
       create bootstrapdata        generate boostrap data
       create jsb            generate a minimal JSB project for an app
       create locale            generate a template locale file from source
       create manifest        generate classes manifest
       package            package your Touch web app into a native bundle
       slice theme            slice a custom theme's images for IE
    
    
    See 'sencha help COMMAND' for more information on a specific command.
    How ppl are supposed to get started with sencha touch if it fails to work?!



  7. #7
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,548
    Vote Rating
    872
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    Did you copy and paste the ST2 directory? Did you get all files? There is a .senchasdk that is a hidden file.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    antonix is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi Mitchell, I am 100% sure that I have all the files because I unzipped downloaded archive to the dev dir. Din not copy/paste anything(bad practice). It is clearly that command tool is running as a 'stripped' version without touch functionality. I can't figure out what is causing this issue..
    We want to migrate our web app on ios, so decided to use ST for that. Though our team can't learn your framework without being able to use the tools it provides

    I will be very appreciated to any help from Sencha community.

    Here is my file tree:
    Code:
    MacBook-Air:sencha-touch-2.0.0-commercial dev$ ls -lah
    total 7528
    drwxr-xr-x@ 21 dev  staff   714B  6 Mar 07:41 .
    drwxr-xr-x  14 dev  staff   476B 17 Apr 13:10 ..
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff     1B  6 Mar 07:33 .senchasdk
    drwxr-xr-x@  3 dev  staff   102B  6 Mar 07:33 builds
    drwxr-xr-x@ 11 dev  staff   374B  6 Mar 07:33 command
    drwxr-xr-x@ 12 dev  staff   408B  6 Mar 07:27 docs
    drwxr-xr-x@ 36 dev  staff   1.2K  6 Mar 07:33 examples
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff   262B  6 Mar 07:33 getting-started.html
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff   523B  6 Mar 07:32 index.html
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff    15K  6 Mar 07:41 license.txt
    drwxr-xr-x@  5 dev  staff   170B  6 Mar 07:33 microloader
    drwxr-xr-x@  6 dev  staff   204B  6 Mar 07:32 pkgs
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff   126K  6 Mar 07:33 release-notes.html
    drwxr-xr-x@  7 dev  staff   238B  6 Mar 07:33 resources
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff   2.3M  6 Mar 07:32 sencha-touch-all-debug.js
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff   568K  6 Mar 07:33 sencha-touch-all.js
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff   489K  6 Mar 07:32 sencha-touch-debug.js
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff    90K  6 Mar 07:32 sencha-touch.js
    drwxr-xr-x@ 66 dev  staff   2.2K  6 Mar 07:33 src
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff    56K  6 Mar 07:33 touch.jsb3
    -rw-r--r--@  1 dev  staff     6B  6 Mar 07:32 version.txt

  9. #9
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    antonix is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Operating System: Mac OS X 10.7.3

    Ok, with no luck of help from Sencha experts I managed to find the issue. By default SDK installer will install tools into /Applications folder. In order for sencha command to work with Touch 2 the SDK tools must be installed into /Users/[user_name]/Applications or any other dir under user acc.
    Hope this will help other people with the same problem I had.

    If everything is ok then command output will be as following:
    Code:
    Sencha Command v2.0.0 for Sencha Touch 2Copyright (c) 2012 Sencha Inc.
    
    
    Usage:
        sencha [module] [action] [arguments...]
    
    
    Example:
        sencha fs minify --from app.js --to app-minified.js --compressor closurecompiler
    
    
    Available modules:
        
       app          Resolve application dependencies and build for production
       fs           A set of useful utility actions to work with files. Most commonly used actions are: concat, minify, delta
       manifest     Extract class metadata
       test         Unit testing using Jasmine
       generate     Automates the generation of projects and files
       package      Packages a Sencha Touch 2 application for native app stores

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    henson is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Thanks!It works.