1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    Fedot Praslov is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Is there any reason SDK Tools v2.0.0-Beta2 need root user permissions to install?

    Is there any reason SDK Tools v2.0.0-Beta2 need root user permissions to install?


    I'm more than happy that SDK-tools are now available for Linux but what bother me I a need for root user permissions while installing the tools.


    I've successfully installed the tools using fakeroot (just got a notice on post-install, I guess it's related to PATH modifications).


    Are we really need to grant root access just to install the tools?

  2. #2
    Sencha - Senior Forum Manager mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    37,327
    Vote Rating
    850
    mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute mitchellsimoens has a reputation beyond repute

      0  

    Default


    For Mac you need to also and this is most likely needed for installing files.
    Mitchell Simoens @SenchaMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Forum Manager
    ________________
    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS 4 and Sencha Touch 2
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Think my support is good? Get more personalized support via a support subscription. https://www.sencha.com/store/

    Need more help with your app? Hire Sencha Services services@sencha.com

    Want to learn Sencha Touch 2? Check out Sencha Touch in Action that is in print!

    When posting code, please use BBCode's CODE tags.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
    leostar69 is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Guide me installing Sencha SDK Tool.

    Guide me installing Sencha SDK Tool.


    Hi,
    I have tried to install Sencha SDK Tool in my ubuntu machine using command line.After following the installation steps at the end it is showing the following error:Chromium can not be run as root.
    Please start Chromium as a normal user. If you have previously run Chromium as root, you will need to change the ownership of your profile directory.
    Can you please resolve this issue.

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    411
    Vote Rating
    18
    jweber will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    I'm curious about this too. If I run ./SenchaSDKTools-2.0.0-beta2-linux-x64.run --help, it says that the default "Installation Directory" is inside my user's home directory. So it doesn't seem like it should need root access. I don't have root on this machine, so it would help if this wasn't required.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Vote Rating
    0
    ryangies is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default Environment not set when installing as root user

    Environment not set when installing as root user


    Default install to:

    /opt/SenchaSDKTools-2.0.0-beta2

    Updates the following in /root

    .bash_profile
    .bashrc
    .cshrc
    .tcshrc

    Should instead update /etc/profile.d/sencha.sh

    export PATH=/opt/SenchaSDKTools-2.0.0-beta2:$PATH
    export SENCHA_SDK_TOOLS_2_0_0_BETA2="/opt/SenchaSDKTools-2.0.0-beta2"

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    411
    Vote Rating
    18
    jweber will become famous soon enough

      0  

    Default


    Looks like 2.0b3 still requires root, even when installing in a custom directory. I hope this can be fixed in a future release.

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    118
    Vote Rating
    0
    da_b0uncer is an unknown quantity at this point

      0  

    Default


    This worked for me:
    Code:
    > fakeroot
    > ./SenchaSDKTools-2.0.0-beta3-linux.run --mode text --prefix /home/myhome/senchasdk