Sencha Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    delp is on a distinguished road

Default IDE examples & how to set up

IDE examples & how to set up

I'm coming from a Flex background where I use flashbuilder IDE for developing and I'm trying to find out what if anything similar exists for sencha.
    I've downloaded the tools, and a webserver etc and I've got the helloworld example working using notepad++, but I would hate to have to code a project using this.

I'm looking for something where I can click a 'create sencha project' or at least import one in after using the cmd line to generate it. Then I'd like the usual autocomplete etc and nice big RUN button that opens up my browser and lets me debug what I've just built. Then ideally the IDE will have a deploy button (I'm really not a fan of using the cmd line) and I can move the code to my non local webserver.

I'm brand new to Sencha (also JS in general), so what development environments do the experienced Sencha devs use and any tips on setting them up.

Sencha Premium Member
    Vote Rating
    DaveAlger is on a distinguished road

Default I'm in the exact same boat

I'm in the exact same boat

I thought I posted this question as I was reading it. I don't think there is a good IDE with code complete anywhere close to what you are asking for.

As far as I can tell some veterans say they like visual studio, some like dream weaver, more seem to like WebStorm by JetBrains (a company that makes great stuff though I can't vouch for WebStorm yet)

I have only been at this for a little over a week and ended up using eclipse + spket + run jetty. I would tell you how to set it all up but am still trying to figure out what I did myself.

I'll probably try WebStorm before too long just to compare.

Hope someone gives you (and me) a better reply. Let me know if you find something like you describe.

Thanks

Ext JS Premium Member
    Vote Rating