You found a bug! We've classified it as DSGNR-1772 . We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #1

    Default userAlias with a dot is rejected

    userAlias with a dot is rejected


    Import from old Ext Designer into "Architect" was successful.

    Unfortunatelly Architect keeps erasing userAlias properties of my components, because it disallows "." in userAlias name.

    There is nothing wrong in using a dot in aliases and I've been doing that for a year now. It's most commonly used in mid to large apps with different modules, where aliases would otherwise overlap (i.e. "users.Grid" != "products.Grid" alias).

    Please fix it!

  2. #2
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Olney, MD
    Posts
    1,911
    Vote Rating
    62
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    Artur,

    I'll look into this. Get you a response soon.
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Vote Rating
    0
    Schlurcher is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I hate to necro old threads, but it seems this issue still has not been resolved. If it's by design a short explanation wouldn't hurt either.

  4. #4

    Default


    It's just an old, abandoned bug ... not really "necro" since it's still OPEN, as in not-fixed

  5. #5
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Olney, MD
    Posts
    1,911
    Vote Rating
    62
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    I believe that this is not allowed by the framework and/or the loader itself. Typically a dot denotes folder structure

    MyApp.views.donkey
    ~/views/donkey.js

    MyApp.views.donkey.boy
    ~/views/donkey/boy.js
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  6. #6
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Olney, MD
    Posts
    1,911
    Vote Rating
    62
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    Cancel that I was looking at userClassName which would refer to the above.

    from the docs on Ext JS 4 - Using a dot in the alias other than the name will cause Ext.ComponentQuery.query to fail on that alias. For example alias: 'widget.sencha.coolpanel'. Using Ext.ComponentQuery.query('sencha.coolpanel') will not work. See http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...aining-./page3 for more details.

    http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthre...-dots-in-alias

    Not sure if it works now. Clearly this is a bug but I'm not sure the framework team intended namespaces outside of widget, store, model (predefined ones)

    List of short aliases for class names.
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  7. #7

    Default


    Yes Phil.
    It's a nasty, old, stinky bug.

    I use dot aliases since Ext 3, because they're essential for a modular app or one with tens of widgets.

    The following works perfectly in Ext 4.x, even though that Architect thingy is lacking:
    Code:
    // inside a class
    alias: 'widget.contacts.ContactEvents', // I have those everywhere...
    
    // inside a controller:
    views:  ['contacts.ContactEvents' ... ]
    
    // later:
    items: [{    xtype: 'contacts.ContactEvents' ... }]

  8. #8
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Olney, MD
    Posts
    1,911
    Vote Rating
    62
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    A workaround would be to change those dots to underscore

    contacts_ContactEvents

    not perfect I know. If this bug is fixed I'd say for sure we should get this in there but I don't want to add a feature that can also introduce a bug.
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  9. #9

    Default


    So basically:
    - "yes, it's a bug, we won't fix it and we don't care"

    Need I remind you, that it's something that was broken with the introduction of Architect ? It was working fine with "Designer". If in doubt, just install "Ext Designer" and type in any alias with a dot. Worked perfectly.

  10. #10
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Olney, MD
    Posts
    1,911
    Vote Rating
    62
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    I never ever said I didn't care. Nothing could be further from the truth.

    Mitchell Simoens is looking into whether it's still a CQ bug in most current SDKs (Ext JS 4.0.x,Ext JS 4.1.x, Touch 2.0.x, Touch 2.1.x)

    If by miracle it's fixed then we'll turn it on.
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team