Success! Looks like we've fixed this one. According to our records the fix was applied for DSGNR-2024 in a recent build.
  1. #1
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
    timmcintyre is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Exclamation Error Opening Project - TypeError: 'undefined' is not an object

    Error Opening Project - TypeError: 'undefined' is not an object


    After saving my project this morning, I just tried to restart Designer and I am now getting a TypeError: 'undefined' is not an object error. It opens up my project however I no longer have any controllers or views visible. The only thing I can see is my stores.

    Any idea how to track down whats gone wrong ?

    Tim

  2. #2
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
    timmcintyre is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    So Ive narrowed it down to a linked resource I just added. If I remove this from the metadata code, I can open my project, however I now need to add back in my linked resource. Once I close down Designer it wont open again until I manually fix this code .. any ideas why this is happening ?

    Code:
    ,        {
                "id": "ExtBox1-ext-gen73583",
                "type": "linkedinstance",
                "reference": {
                    "name": "items",
                    "type": "array"
                },
                "codeClass": null,
                "userConfig": {
                    "layout|region": "north",
                    "id": "ar_gridpanel"
                },
                "customConfigs": [],
                "iconCls": "icon-linkedinstance",
                "expanded": true,
                "masterInstanceId": "ExtBox1-ext-gen73537"
            }

  3. #3
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,066
    Vote Rating
    113
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    tim -

    Any chance you could share an archive of your project with us on the architect team?

    The broken one that is You can send it to designer.feedback at sencha.com and link this thread as a reference.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  4. #4
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    1,843
    Vote Rating
    57
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    I'm able to reproduce so we'll get to the bottom of it. Gimme a few
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  5. #5
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    1,843
    Vote Rating
    57
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    Ok so solution time!

    First I can't answer how you project got into this state though we are going to look a little bit deeper into the upgrade process to be sure we didn't cause this.

    The issue is your BookingAddResources window had a linked instance that was no longer valid ... e.g. the id it had didn't exist in your project (ucmpGridBar) see line 1785 of metadata/view/BookAddResource.js

    "masterInstanceId": "ucmpGridBar" --Error

    replace this line with:
    "masterInstanceId": "ExtBox1-ext-gen67263"

    This id is the actual id of your GridBar component

    I will tell you that in the past we didn't load up the components with dependencies in mind we assumed all would be available by the time you needed it. However this wasn't true in some cases so it now loads in order wrt dependencies and thus this new code that you are now breaking on. It's possible this was broken before and you just didn't know about it.

    Lemme know if this fixes the issue.
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  6. #6
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    26
    Vote Rating
    0
    timmcintyre is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Hi Phil,

    Yep that did it, not sure how it ended up that way in the first place though. Might be worth expanding the error messaging in the designer to tell you where any errors like that may stem from.

    Either way .. thanks for sorting out the issue . .Ive opened up the project & re-saved it with no issues

    Cheers

    Tim

  7. #7
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    1,843
    Vote Rating
    57
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    Yeah we've found some holes we hadn't thought of that are being fixed for the next update. Thanks for bringing this to light!
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  8. #8
    Sencha Premium Member intellix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK + Malta
    Posts
    263
    Vote Rating
    18
    intellix will become famous soon enough

      1  

    Default


    I also have this issue but have something like 134 files to look through. No idea how I'm going to track down this in a reasonable time :/


    Opened them all, searched for masterInstanceId in all files, copied all of the IDs, uniqued them and searched in all files for them all for something referencing something that no longer exists and couldn't find a problem

  9. #9
    Sencha Premium Member intellix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK + Malta
    Posts
    263
    Vote Rating
    18
    intellix will become famous soon enough

      1  

    Default


    Managed to get to the bottom of it. I copy and pasted my project then deleted parts of my project until it allowed me to save. I found the part that was killing my project.

    So:

    I have a Toolbar class, which is added to many pages, snippet:
    Code:
    {
        "id": "ExtBox1-ext-gen177536",
        "type": "toolbar",
        "reference": {
            "name": "items",
            "type": "array"
        },
        "codeClass": null,
        "userConfig": {
            "cls": [
                "toolbarBottom"
            ],
    It's used on a container, which works:
    Code:
    {
                "id": "ExtBox1-ext-gen72245",
                "type": "linkedinstance",
                "reference": {
                    "name": "items",
                    "type": "array"
                },
                "codeClass": null,
                "userConfig": {},
                "customConfigs": [],
                "iconCls": "icon-linkedinstance",
                "expanded": true,
                "masterInstanceId": "ExtBox1-ext-gen177536"
            }
    And used on a nestedlist, which did not work:

    Code:
    {
                "id": "ExtBox1-ext-gen26679",
                "type": "linkedinstance",
                "reference": {
                    "name": "toolbar",
                    "type": "object"
                },
                "codeClass": null,
                "userConfig": {},
                "customConfigs": [],
                "iconCls": "icon-linkedinstance",
                "expanded": true,
                "masterInstanceId": "ExtBox1-ext-gen177536"
            }
    Had a little play with replicating it again. It seems I can't drag in my bottom toolbar into a Nestedlist as it doesn't let me... But I can duplicate a link of it and drag that into it instead

  10. #10
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team Phil.Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    1,843
    Vote Rating
    57
    Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice Phil.Strong is just really nice

      0  

    Default


    I don't quite understand the steps but you're reporting a bug, right?
    Had a little play with replicating it again. It seems I can't drag in my bottom toolbar into a Nestedlist as it doesn't let me... But I can duplicate a link of it and drag that into it instead
    Can you give me exact steps dumbed down e.g. add a toolbar, drag the toolbar, etc ...

    that would be uber helpful if you think this is in fact a bug
    Phil Strong
    @philstrong
    #SenchaArchitect
    Sencha Architect Development Team