Sencha Premium Member
    Answers
    Vote Rating
    brian428 is a splendid one to behold brian428 is a splendid one to behold brian428 is a splendid one to behold brian428 is a splendid one to behold brian428 is a splendid one to behold brian428 is a splendid one to behold brian428 is a splendid one to behold

Default Unanswered: Preventing Namespace Collisions

Unanswered: Preventing Namespace Collisions

Hello, I'm new to ExtJS and had a question about namespaces. I understand the reasons to use them (for organization and to prevent class collisions within an application).

In Java, the norm is to create packages with very specific names. These can often be long, e.g. "com.mycompany.widgets.gwt.myapp.controller", etc.

The reasons for this are probably obvious, since building a Java app essentially merges all of the namespaces of all of the libraries in use, so careful thought must be given to prevent overlap and collisions.

When it comes to Ext namespaces, is this as much of a concern? If a single web page has separate iframes or windows in it (like a portal), is there a danger that namespaces across separate apps/frames can collide?

Basically, I'm wondering how far people take the namespaces.

Sencha - Support Team scottmartin's Avatar
    Answers
    Vote Rating
    scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future scottmartin has a brilliant future

Here is a good article on our class system that provides info on name spacing conventions:
    http://www.sencha.com/learn/sencha-class-system/

Regards,
    Scott

Sencha Premium Member
    Answers
    Vote Rating