1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    0
    heloWelo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default App not showing in Browser

    App not showing in Browser


    Hi All

    First post here and VERY new to Sencha and Architect.

    I've loaded an XML file into a List view and it previews the data correctly but when I try to preview the app in Chrome, I just get a small light blue rectangle in the browser. Nothing shows.

    I'm guessing this some kind of deployment issue?

    Anyway, would appreciate some pointers!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,363
    Vote Rating
    128
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Are you loading the xml from the same domain you are deploying the app to?

    If not, you will want to ensure that you are...

    See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Same_origin_policy

    If you open the developer tools, do you receive any errors?
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    0
    heloWelo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Yes its in the same domain, just a quick test. The data shows up in Architect as expected.

    I wasn't aware I needed to run the SDK tools when working in Archetect... have I missed something fundamental?!

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    0
    heloWelo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I guess you meant Chrome Developer Tools? Oops

    Can't see any obvious errors but this is my first use of these tools - diving into the shallow end!

  5. #5
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,363
    Vote Rating
    128
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by heloWelo View Post
    I wasn't aware I needed to run the SDK tools when working in Archetect... have I missed something fundamental?!
    You don't.

    I was just making sure that it was being copied to the same place. If you are using a JSON proxy, you should also use a relative url and setup your URL Prefix as to where the project will be deployed.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    0
    heloWelo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I'm using an Ajax Proxy and everything works within Architect.

    I've tried a new file with nothing but a button on it and still can't get anything in the brower. The standard(?) app.html is there when viewing the source code.

    Is there a way for me to test my setup?

  7. #7
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,363
    Vote Rating
    128
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    I suspect the XHR request is failing, open up the developer tools and see what is happening.
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    0
    heloWelo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    Nothing showing for XHR.

    Is this HTML correct for referencing the style sheets and Java scripts etc? I thought they might have to be deployed locally on a local server...

    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html><!-- Auto Generated with Sencha Architect --><!-- Modifications to this file will be overwritten. --><html><head>    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />    <title>Second</title>    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://extjs.cachefly.net/touch/sencha-touch-2.0.1/resources/css/sencha-touch.css"/>    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://extjs.cachefly.net/touch/sencha-touch-2.0.1/sencha-touch-all-debug.js"></script>    <script type="text/javascript" src="app.js"></script>    <script type="text/javascript">        if (!Ext.browser.is.WebKit) {            alert("The current browser is unsupported.\n\nSupported browsers:\n" +                "Google Chrome\n" +                "Apple Safari\n" +                "Mobile Safari (iOS)\n" +                "Android Browser\n" +                "BlackBerry Browser"            );        }    </script></head><body></body></html>

  9. #9
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    81
    Vote Rating
    0
    heloWelo is on a distinguished road

      0  

    Default


    I've also discovered that once I have deployed for the first time, all subsequent saves and previews only view the original. e.g. Putting a button on, saving, deploying and then removing, saving and deploying, still shows the button...

  10. #10
    Sencha - Architect Dev Team aconran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9,363
    Vote Rating
    128
    aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold aconran is a splendid one to behold

      0  

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by heloWelo View Post
    I've also discovered that once I have deployed for the first time, all subsequent saves and previews only view the original. e.g. Putting a button on, saving, deploying and then removing, saving and deploying, still shows the button...
    We'll need more info about workflow, steps to reproduce, etc
    Aaron Conran
    @aconran
    Sencha Architect Development Team